United States Government Information: Data and Statistics

• Bureau of Economic Analysis

  Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.

• Bureau of Justice Statistics

  Presents data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

• Bureau of Labor Statistics

  Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

• Bureau of Transportation Statistics

  Presents data on all modes of transportation.

• Census Bureau

  Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.

• Childstats.gov

  Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

• Congressional Budget Office

  The CBO provides the Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary process. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.

• Data.gov

  Allows users to locate, download and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.

• Defense Management Data Center

  Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.

• Economic Research Service

  Statistics related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.

• Election Statistics

  Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920.

• Energy Information Administration

  Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.

• ForeignAssistance.gov

  Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.

• healthdata.gov

  Access to data on a wide range of topics, including COVID-19, environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

• Internal Revenue Service

  Tax statistics for business, individuals, and charitable organizations and additional statistics about the tax system.

• National Agricultural Statistics Service

  Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

• National Center for Education Statistics

  Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy and libraries.

• National Center for Health Statistics

  Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.

• Office of Immigration Statistics

  Presents data on immigrants by legal status.

• Travel Restrictions under Presidential Proclamations 9645 and 9983

  Monthly statistical reports from the State Dept., Sept. 2019 - Jan. 2021, on visa applications affected by travel ban.

• USA.gov

  Data and statistics by topic.

The resources below were not published by the federal government, but provide access to federal statistics/data.

• Demand Progress Data Sets

  Federal appropriations data.

• Global Financial Database

  Provides some 6500 historical and current financial and economic data series from over 180 countries. Many series reach back with deep data runs to prior centuries. Easy graphing and downloading is available on the system

• Historical Statistics of the United States

  Comprehensive survey and tabulation of historical statistics from government agencies and other sources, covering all aspects of US population and economy. View tables or download as Excel files

• ICPSR Data Archive

  World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables

• Social Explorer

  1790- . This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940.