United States Government Information: Quick Reference Links
Older U.S. Government Reference Tools in Print
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1900 - 1971. 15 vols. Buchanan, William W. and Edna M. Kanely. Carrollton Press, Washington & Inverness, 1973. Level 1 Stacks: Z 1223 A1824.
This fifteen-volume set contains all listings from the annual, biennial and cumulative indexes to the Monthly Catalog published from 1900 to 1971. This period of time saw many government publications and primary sources distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) of permanent value to researchers in American history.
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976. 16 vols. Lester, Daniel W., Sandra K. Faull and Lorraine E. Lester. United States Historical Documents Institute, Inc., Arlington, VA, 1979. Level 1 Stacks: Z 1223 Z7 C84.
The United States Government Printing Office (USGPO) Public Documents Library was the most exhaustive collection of U.S. government publications available in 1979, when this Index was compiled from its holdings.
U.S. Government Publications (Andriot), Batten, Donna, Project Editor. Gale, CENGAGE Learning, Farmington Hills, MI: 2017. Knowledge Commons, Reference Collection: Z 1223 Z7 A5722 2017.
Originally known as 'Andriot,' this is one of the most important tools used by government documents librarians. An exhaustive listing of the U.S. federal government depository collections by SuDoc numbers, giving a mini-history for each issuing office, agency and publication, plus notes on earlier and later sources and locations for the same information.
Top Ten U.S. Government Reference Publications!
- The U.S. Government ManualThe official handbook of the United States Federal Government.
- The Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2012The single best cumulation of U.S. government statistics collected on an annual basis, with notes and links to sources of information for each table. Excellent both for the statistics, and the pointers to many federal, non-federal, and commercial sources. Digitized annual editions go back to 1878. Starting with the 2013 edition the StatAbstract is now being published by a private publisher and we will have the printed edition only. The 2015 printed edition is in the Knowledge Commons Reference Collection, at this call number - HA 202 U5a 2015.
- The Federal Register"The daily journal for the United States Government." In searchable electronic format back to 1994 at this website, and back to 1936 in the HeinOnline Database, available at http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=fedreg&set_as_cursor=clear .
- Code of Federal Regulations"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis." The federal government website is searchable back to 1996, while the HeinOnline edition goes back to 1938.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookMedian pay, current needs and projections, and educational requirements for hundreds of jobs.
- Catalog of Federal Domestic AssistanceNOTE: As of August, 2021, this website is not available!
"Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals." Currently lists 2,284 programs available!
- The CIA World Fact Book"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
- United States Code"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information." The FDsys website has editions back to 1994, and the HeinOnline database goes back to 1925-6.
- Economic Report of the PresidentThe Economic Report of the President is issued by the Executive Office of the President and his or her Council of Economic Advisers. It is, therefore, a partisan examination of national economic conditions, including current trends and goals for employment, production, income and the Federal budget. The Report outlines current Administration programs for economic development. Digitized copies of the Economic Report go back to 1995 in FDsys, and 1947 in the HeinOnline database.
Subject Specialist, DOCMAPS CIT Chair