Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. and State Government Tools
These federal search engines are more focused on U.S. government sources than general search engines such as Google or Bing.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Grants available from the federal government!
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Data and data series directly from the U.S. government - the largest producer of data in the world!
FDLP Basic Collection
These titles are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government. This list is subject to change.
FDLP Official Content Partnerships
Institutions that have a project or a resource that would benefit the public and the depository community are encouraged to form partnerships with the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Many Federal agencies and Federal depository libraries have developed unique or innovative services for both the public and Federal depository libraries. GPO provides and guarantees access to these services for the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) through partnerships.
FDsys - America's Authentic Government Information!
FDsys is the newest digital archive for US government information.
A portal to information published by the Government Printing Office (GPO)
A portal to a wide span of health information from the federal government.
A portal for science and technology from the U.S. federal government.
A 'general' portal to U.S. government information - often the best place to start!
USA.gov Statistics (FedStats)
Statistical data directly from the U.S. federal government!
Selected Federal Government Web Sites
National Agriculture Library Digital Repository
"The National Agricultural Library Digital Repository (NALDR) provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions."
Core Documents of Our Democracy
"This collection provides American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government."
U.S Patent and Trademark Office
The U.S. Patent database is the largest cross-referenced database of technology in the world!
Selected Non-Government Web Sites
Search .gov sites
Use a Google domain search to find publications on government (.gov) websites.
Enter your search as follows: keyword site:.gov