Art History

Contemporary Artists Index (CAI) is a unique resource developed and maintained by the Cleveland Institute of Art's Gund Library staff. CAI indexes approximately 20,000 artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in group exhibition catalogs added to the Gund Library since 1991, as well as the video periodical Art Today and View, a periodical specializing in artist interviews.

Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. They are an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art. Their growing collection comprises 100,000+ artworks by 18,000+ artists from leading art fairs, galleries, museums, and art institutions. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.

Titian or Tiziano Vecellio? ULAN contains names, variant names, and biographical information for artists, architects, studios, firms, and repositories of art.

Getty Provenance Index® databases, which currently contain 1.5 million records taken from source material such as archival inventories, auction catalogs, and dealer stock books.

The major modern & contemporary visual artists. Sculpture, painting, installation artists, print, performance, photography, collage and multimedia and digital artists. The current, the famous, established and emerging artists since 1900, with links to webresources to find anything you want to know about them, with images of their work, comprehensive biographies and articles, and if it exists, the artist‘s personal website.

The Archives Directory for the History of Collecting is a pioneering resource created to help researchers locate primary source material about American art collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records. The database is a work in progress that is regularly updated with information contributed by both institutions and individuals.

Christie's auction results going back to 1998.

Southeby's auction results dating back to 2000.

We provide one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online. Thousands of works from diverse cultures and time periods are accessible for study and enjoyment, and select works from our gallery partners are available to collectors. By making all the world’s art freely accessible, Artsy hopes to foster new generations of art lovers, museum-goers, collectors, and patrons.

This database contains the full text of many U.S. and international news sources. The collection includes coverage of major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Also includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.

This database provides access to the searchable text of the New York Times from 1851-2009. Many parts of the text besides the articles themselves are also searchable, including short items like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to their perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a full-text collection of more than 300 publications offering both national and regional coverage. The collection contains publications from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and more. A majority of the content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database. Of the more than 1.6 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, including El Nuevo Herald, El Diario/La Prensa, and Mundo Hispánico.

This database is a specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers a number of art forms from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing are available from the late 1960s onwards.

Art Full Text is a database that features full-text articles, abstracting and indexing of a number of peer-selected publications, podcasts, and page images. The subjects covered by this database include fine, decorative, and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, architecture, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. The database also indexes a growing selection of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art. The full text is provided for articles from more than 270 periodicals as far back as 1997, along with indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984 (including 260 peer-reviewed journals), as well as over 18,000 art dissertations, art reproduction records, and more. The database is updated daily and as new information is available.

Art Retrospective is a record of contemporary art history that provides access to over half a century of art literature. In addition to many English-language art journals, Art Retrospective also covers a number of publications in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. The database allows users to view contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and gives access to artists' interviews, commentaries, and more. In total, Art Retrospective contains almost 600 publications over 55 years (many of them peer-reviewed), citations to over 25,000 book reviews, indexing of art reproductions to help researchers in focusing on a single artist or on individual works, and searches based on keywords, subject headings, personal names, article title words, organizations, publications, and year.

AskART is an online database containing biographical information, records and media relating to original works of art (including paintings, illustrations, and sculpture) and the careers of over 200,000 artists. Over 6,000 museums and dealers are also referenced. Users have access to information about the artists' biographies, auction records, financial graphics, magazine ads, and images of the artwork. Users can also view information about upcoming auctions, analyze auction results, and sign up to be alerted via email with any updates about their chosen artists.

This listing provides full-text access to all content that the library subscribes to through JSTOR. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher.

A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Premier focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 and earlier are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

America: History and Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is a strong bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. This database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. The predominantly English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Topics include world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and others. The collection indexes more than 3,100 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Coverage dates vary by title.