Art History
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized online and print resources for their study of topics within Art History.
Articles & News
Try these first ...
Here are the MAJOR art-related databases for scholarly literature in the arts that the Marriott Library subscribes to:
- Art Full TextIndexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world in virtually all areas of art, architecture, and archaeology. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals (1997- ); however indexing coverage dates back to 1984. NOTE: Search Art Full Text and Art Retrospective together to tap more completely into 20th century art periodical literature.
- Art RetrospectiveUse to search art journalism of the 20th century (1929-84) including English-language sources and French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch sources. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. Art Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists' interviews and other commentary, and much more.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtCitations and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts & the history of art and architecture produced between 1975 and 2007.
- JSTORProvides full-text online access (including all graphics/images) to back issues (NOTE: current issues may not be accessible) of major scholarly publications in the humanities and social sciences. Subjects covered include: art/art history; architecture/architectural history; archaeology; American studies; feminist and women's studies; Latin American Studies; religion; and psychology, among others.
- ProjectMuseFull text to 400+ scholarly peer reviewed journals by more than 100 publishers in the humanities and social sciences. The database can be searched by individual journal title, selected groupings of sources, or as a whole. There is a small overlap in coverage with JSTOR, and, like JSTOR, you may not find the most current issues here.
News: Current & Historical
For additional newspaper databases ...
Select Databases by Type: Newspapers
To learn more about using newspapers for research ...
- ProQuest NewstandFull text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.
- Utah Digital NewspapersThis project digitizes a variety of local Utah newspapers from the late 18th to early 20th centuries. They are fully searchable and are presented as they appeared at the time.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
- New York TImes Historical NewspaperFully searchable text of the Times from 1851-2007. Find words anywhere in the text, including short items--like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads-- which have never before been indexed. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page. Use the ProQuest database for more recent NYTimes articles.
- Los Angeles Times ArchiveThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)Provides daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service; full coverage of the Christian Science Monitor; abstracts and indexing of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today and The Christian Science Monitor, all dating from 1995; abstracts from the NYT Magazine and NYT Book Review; full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers (online only) from Knight-Ridder/ Tribune Business News; and more ....
You might also look here ...
The following databases may also be relevant for your research -- check out the brief descriptions OR refer to the larger list of databases (see the link for ALL databases to the right) OR contact Luke Leither.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online contains over 45,000 signed articles on visual arts, with more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies. The collection also includes more than 6,000 searchable images and over 40,000 image links to museums and galleries.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (accessed via Web of Science) provides access to bibliographic and citation information that can be to find research data, analyze trends, journals, and researchers, and share findings. NOTE: You will need a Departmental password to access this database. Consult carrie.mcdade@utah.edu or the Dept of Art / Art History.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsA comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, landscape architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. International indexing of both scholarly and popular periodical literature as well as the publications of professional associations and U.S. and regional periodicals. Some full text access; selective coverage back to 1741.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest Direct)Provides access to millions dissertations and theses citations from around the world, 1861 to the present day. Offers full-0text access for most of dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Many dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and a good number are available for purchase as printed copies.
- Historical Abstracts (EbscoHost)Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Some full text available and coverage is 1954 to current publications.
- America: History & Life (EbscoHost)Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Some full text available and coverage is 1955 to current publications.
- Vogue ArchivesThis database provides access to a complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing for images by garment type, designer and brand names. Subjects covered by the database include Fashion History, Gender Studies, Marketing and Advertising, Photography, Graphic Design, Popular Culture, and more.
Open Access Resources for Art History
What is OPEN ACCESS for scholarly communications? The basic idea is simple: making peer-reviewed literature permanently available, free of charge and freely redistributable by taking advantage of the low cost and wide access of internet distribution. For more information, as well as links to OPEN ACCESS journals in the humanities, check out:
A useful search tool for locating OPEN ACCESS literature is:
- Art HIstory TOCsA blog that tracks open access journals in art history.
- Ninetheenth Century Art WorldwideOPEN ACCESS RESOURCE. A scholarly, refereed e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe. The journal covers the visual culture of all parts of the world—from the Americas to the Far East and from Scandinavia to Africa and Australia.
- Image & Narrationa peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples.
- ANISTORITON: Journal of History, Archaeology, Art Historyan electronic Journal of History, Archaeology and ArtHistory. It publishes scholarly papers since 1997 and it is freely available on the Internet. All papers and images since vol. 1 (1997) are available on line.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books (& growing). You may search for books using the repository’s well-crafted metadata, as you would any other library catalog, or search the full text of HathiTrust’s holdings. 2 million of the books are in the public domain and may be viewed, downloaded, and searched online.
