- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- Art History
- Latin American + Chican@ Art
Art History
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized online and print resources for their study of topics within Art History.
Carribean Art - Museums
Latin American Avant-Garde Collection
The Latin American Avant-Garde Collection in the Katherine W. Dumke Fine Arts & Architecture Library is unique body of more than 35 primary source documents -- art objects and publications that support the study Latin American avant-garde art of the second half of the twentieth century. Spanning the years 1966 and 2007, the collection includes works by artists such as: Clemente Padin, Magali Lara, Lourdes Castro, Claudio Goulart, Joao Carlos, and Regina Silveira, among others.
Each item in the Latin American Avant-Garde Collection has a Fine Arts Collection call number and is available for IN LIBRARY USE only. To access a specific item (or items), please make a request at the Fine Arts service desk (located in the Fine Arts & Architecture Library, level 2, Marriott Library). You will be asked to leave your student ID with the librarian in exchange for a single item from the collection. You may look at as many of the 42 collection items as you wish, though only one at time. This is because 1) many of the items include loose, multiple parts that must not be separated from their folders, and 2) many of the items require special handling.
To enhance your browsing access to the Latin American Avant-Garde Collection, the Fine Arts & Architecture library staff has created a Visual Guide in the digital library ARTstor. You are encouraged to review this guide and identify more specifically the items you wish to study in depth -- that is, the items that you will come to the library and review in person.
Please refer to the tutorial posted here on how to access the visual guide in ARTstor. For more information and assistance, please refer to Luke Leither or Erika Church.
For general information about ARTstor, visit the following online resources:
Articles & News
Periodicals are information resources published periodically -- daily, weekly, monthly, semi-annually, annually, etc. Specific examples of periodicals include: newspapers, magazines (generally "popular" or "news" oreinted), and journals (generally scholarly / academic). The Marriott Library subscribes to the following databases that cover literature about or published from within Latin America.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American HistoryThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a dynamic, innovative, comprehensive, self-reflexive online research encyclopedia, which provides access to state-of-the-art research and also connects readers to the full range of internet resources for research and teaching, including audio, visual, video materials, digitized archives, and other primary sources. By collecting scholarship on all dimensions of Latin American history, the ORE seeks to overcome the anachronistic, disorderly, territorial and disciplinary fragmentation of Latin American History.
- Oxford Bibliographies of Latin American StudiesOxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Latin American Studies. Latin American Studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online (formerly the Grove Dictionary of Art) contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography, from prehistory to the present day.
- ProQuest NewsstandFull text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (via ProQuest)This database includes a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- coverage from 1990 to current.
- Chicano DatabaseThis database contains many types of material on Mexican-American topics, Chicanos, and the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The collection focuses on subjects relating to art, bilingual education, health, history, labor, language, literature, mental health, and politics. There are over 2000 journals and 60,000 records in the database, covering these topics from the late 1960's to the present.
- Fuenta Academica (via EBSCOhost)A collection of more than 150 full text scholarly Spanish-language journals from Latin American, South American, and Spanish publishers.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Because you have chosen to use Open URL links we can also provide over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- Latin America Database (LADB)LADB produces three weekly electronic publications (SourceMex, NotiCen and NotiSur) and maintains an on-line searchable database of more than 24,000 articles (from back issues of LADB publications) as well as Latin American journals. LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD)Journal, magazine, and reference book articles addressing the history of theater in societies around the world; theory of theater movements and genres; and analysis of productions, companies, and individuals.
Caribbean Art - Visual Resources
- Arte Latino: Treasures from the Smithsonian American Art Museum
- Caribbean Art and Visual Culture: As Far as the Eye/ I Can See
As far as the eye/I can see is a project that shares artist's visions, voices and vantage points, a space where critics offer perspectives on current exhibits and critical debates in contemporary visual art and culture.
- Cuban Photograph Collections (University of Miami: Cuban Heritage Collection)
The Cuban Photograph Collections include over 5,000 photographs which span a wide range of historical topics related to Cuba and the Cuban Diaspora.
- Cuban Postcard Collection (University of Miami: Cuban Heritage Collection)
The Cuban Postcard Collection is a continuously growing collection of postcards of Cuba and the Cuban experience outside of Cuba produced from the turn of the 20th century to the present.
- Deena Stryker Photographs, Cuba 1963-1964 and undated (Duke University)
Approximately 1,850 photographs shot in Cuba between 1963 and 1964 and processed by Alberto Korda on the island.
- Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)
Hundreds of photographs and prints, in albums and rare published volumes, present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean.
- Manuel R. Bustamante Photograph Collection (University of Miami: Cuban Heritage Collection)
The Manuel R. Bustamente Photograph Collection consists primarily of over 600 black and white photographs of Cuba from the early 1900s to the 1930s.
-
Centro has grown into a renowned institution with departments specializing in original research, frequently linked to social action; novel approaches to education, not limited to, but including, the training of students and faculty in areas of Puerto Rican studies, and designed for students from high school as well as undergraduate and post-graduate levels
Open Web Resources for Latin American Art & Culture
Open Web resources can provide very useful information and links to additional resources, however they must be consulted with scrutiny and discertion. Remember, anyone one with a computer, access to the Internet, and some basic Web editing skills can publish a website! If you need some help evaluating a site, then refer to the CRAAP Test.
The sites listed here are but a selection of recommended sources. Feel welcome to email me others that you find especially useful.
- The Handbook of Latin American Studies, compiled by the Library of CongressThe Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
- Afro-Latin American and Afro-Latinx Art Historical ResourcesAs part of our initiative to uplift scholarship on Afro-Latin American art history, the Association for Latin American Art has put together a bibliography of resources for research and teaching. This document contains an array of art historical resources related to the African diaspora in Latin America, from the colonial to contemporary periods.
- LACLILACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Anyone could reuse LACLI to create their own guides or any other material for non-commercial purposes. This is a Latin America Northeast Libraries Consortium (LANE) project.
- ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino ArtThe ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
- CalisphereThese images trace the history of Hispanic Americans in California from the Mission system and Californios into the 20th century: Mexican immigration into California, the farmworkers' labor struggles, and the Chicano Civil Rights movement and La Raza, which also resulted in an explosion of cultural art. Although a number of different Hispanic American groups now live in the state, the images in this topic largely portray Mexican Americans, who have always comprised the majority of Hispanic Californians.
- Association of Latin American ArtThe Association for Latin American Art is a non-profit organization dedicated to the study of the art of Latin America. Established in 1979 as an affiliated society of the College Art Association, it aims to encourage the highest standards of scholarship, criticism, and teaching in the art and architectural history of Latin America.
- Fundacion CisnerosThe Fundación Cisneros is a private, nonprofit organization established by Patricia Phelps de Cisneros and Gustavo A. Cisneros, and presided by Adriana Cisneros de Griffin. The Fundación Cisneros is devoted to improving education throughout Latin America, and fostering global awareness of the continent’s heritage and its many contributions to world culture. See also: Fundacion Cisneros Coleccion Patricia Phelps De Cisneros (CPPC) at http://www.coleccioncisneros.org/
- International Center for Art of the Americas (ICAA)The International Center for the Arts of the Americas, or ICAA, is the research institute of the Latin American Art Department at the MFAH. Its mission is to pioneer research of the diverse artistic production of Latin Americans and Latino artists from Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the U.S.; educate audiences about the field; and open new avenues of intercultural exchange and dialogue.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)LANIC is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin. Its mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America; its target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. Many of its resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors.
- Latin American Women Artists: A Bibliographic ArchiveThis archive represents an ongoing effort to collect the bibliographic record of the international literature on women artists in and from Latin America. Listing 853 artists and 126 artists' personal websites, it is a supplement and update of Latin American Women Artists, Kahlo and Look Who Else: A Selective, Annotated Bibliography (Greenwood Press, 1996) (see left). (books, exhibition catalogues, critical reviews, master's and doctoral theses, and videorecordings)
- Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA), Long Beach, CAThe Museum of Latin American Art educates the public through the collection, preservation, presentation and interpretation of modern and contemporary Latin American art in order to promote cross-cultural dialogue.
- Museum of Modern Art, New York: Online Bibliography of Latin American ArtThis bibliography contains the Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino holdings in the Library of The Museum of Modern Art. It is updated regularly so that scholars and students will have current information regarding the holdings available.
- Pinta: The Modern & Contemporary Latin American Art ShowPINTA is a unique event exhibiting annually – for sale through the participating galleries – the best of Latin American art, coinciding with Christie’s and Sotheby’s Latin American art auctions and with important exhibitions in museums and cultural institutions in New York City. Nov 10-13, 2011 in NYC
- Surrealism In Latin America: A Getty Research Institute ProjectThe Getty Research Institute's Latin American surrealist collections encompass various media: archival papers, journals, rare books, photographs, and artwork. This is an ongoing project, and you may need to contact the GRI directly for access information. Consult the collection research guide: http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/guides_bibliographies/surrealism_latin_america/index.html.
Special Collections Supporting the Study of Latin American Art, Culture, & History
This section includes selected archival respositories for the study of Latin American Art. The primary source materials you may find within these repositories and collections include: artists' papers; photographs; exhibition histories and materials (catalogs, photographs, correspondence, etc.); clippings; and oral histories, among others.
Primary sources are not strictly limited to archives, however. For instance,you may discover primary sources in newspapers (what was being written at the time of the event) and in journal articles. Some search terms you might want to try (or add to your keyword/subject searches) in the recommended databases:
Latin America* AND collection
"primary sources" OR archiv* OR collection*
research OR resources
- Archivos Virtuales: The Papers of Latino and Latin American ArtistsThe Smithsonian Archives of American Art has extensive holdings of papers of and about Latino and Latin American artists; Americans of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Dominican, and Central and South American descent; artists of Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean of Spanish and French heritage. You can browse by the holdings by artist/person name, collection, and images.
- Gateway to Art / De Puertas al ArteA project of the Museum of Fine Arts Houston Archives to digitize records pertaining to its Latin American and Latino art exhibition history for presentation on the Web. The exhibitions range in date from 1930 to 1992 and and feature such acclaimed Latin American artists as José Clemente Orozco, Pedro Figari, Diego Rivera, and JoaquínTorres-García, as well as Hispanic artists Luis Jiménez and Jesús Bautista Moroles.
- Latin Americana: Mexican and Central American CollectionsThe Bancroft Library at the UC Berkeley has especially extensive and unique materials related to Colonial México and the Northern territories. Building on these early strengths, The Bancroft Collection of Latin American manuscripts, imprints, newspapers, broadsides and pamphlets has grown into one of the world's great repositories for historical and contemporary research on México and Central America.
- Duke University LibraryDuke University holds Latin American materials in its Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library that support research and scholarship in this area. From this link, you will find guides organized into manuscript and printed resources with the manuscripts subdivided further into material relating to South America, the Caribbean, and Central America.
- Hans P. Kraus CollectionThis is a collection of documents relating to colonial Spanish America and dating from 1492 to 1819. Focusing on colonial Mexico, the Kraus Collection brings together material on exploration, government, activities of the Inquisition, taxation and economic conditions, relations with the Indians and the French, and the impending loss of land to Anglo-American settlers.
- Cuban Heritage Collection: University of MiamiThe archival and manuscript materials include collections of personal papers and organizational records and other primary sources that include historical and literary manuscripts, letters, photographs, maps, posters, sound and video recordings, and ephemera. These collections document the Cuban experience on the island and in the diaspora, from colonial times to the present and support research in a wide array of subjects and time periods.
- Latin American History at the Newberry LibraryThe Newberry Library has an abundance of primary source material documenting the British, French, Spanish and Portuguese Colonies. Holdings are particularly strong in Mayan and Mexican archaeological materials & linguistics, including printed and manuscript materials, manuscript reproductions and transcripts, codices, grammars and dictionaries.
- Carlos Franqui Collection, 1952-1981 (Princeton)The Carlos Franqui Collection contains works and correspondence of Cuban journalist, poet, and essayist Carlos Franqui, who moved to Europe in 1968 after becoming dissatisfied with Castro's Cuban regime. Included are manuscripts for Diario de la Revolucion Cubana (1976), Cuba, Libro de los Doce (1977), and Retrato de Familia con Fidel (1981) concerning the Cuban revolution of 1959 and Franqui's association with Fidel Castro.
- The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American CollectionThe Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, a unit of the University of Texas Libraries, is a specialized research library focusing on materials from and about Latin America, and on materials relating to Latinos in the United States.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)CRL, of which the University of Utah is a member, provides a atalog of foreign newspapers and many other primary sources available to borrow. See the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) http://www.crl.edu/grn/larrp/
- Latin American Collection, Yale UniversityThis collection at Yale University is one of the foremost collections in the United States, containing a wealth of research material and offering a variety of research opportunities for Latin American studies. The collecting policy is to acquire the important editorial production in the fields of the humanities and social sciences published in South America, México, Central America and the Caribbean.
- Hemeroteca Digital BrasileiraThis digital archive provides access to nineteenth and twentieth century newspapers housed at the National Library in Brazil, such as "Correio Braziliense," "Gazeta do Rio de Janeiro," "Diário Carioca," and "Correio da Manhã"
