Art History
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized online and print resources for their study of topics within Art History.
Primary Sources
Historical Articles
- Art RetrospectiveFind contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists' interviews and other commentary, and much more -- 1929-1984. You can search BOTH retro databases listed here together.
- Readers' Guide RetrospectiveGeneral journal index covering periodicals published 1890-1982. You can search BOTH retro databases listed here together.
Select Primary Sources Online
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid is a collection of nearly two million archival material descriptions, including records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid.
- Early English Books OnlineContains the scanned digital images of over 125,000 books printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)This database provides access to a large collection of English and foreign-language literature printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. The collection is focused on The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution. Works by both well-known and lesser-known authors of the period are included as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles. Materials contained in the database include bo…
- American MemoryFree and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
- Archives of American ArtSince 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
- The Beazley ArchiveProvides dictionary and bibliographies related to collection of ancient Greek and Roman cultural objects. Housed in the Classical Art Research Center and Archive at the University of Oxford.
- Getty Research InstituteUse online Getty research tools and learn how to access Research Library collections.
- NYPL Digital GalleryProvides free and open access to more than 640,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Online Archive of California (OAC)The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.
- Mountain West Digital LibraryA regional cooperative administered within the Greater Western Library Alliance. It is dedicated to providing access to water-related resources regarding the trans-Mississippi region of North America. The resources include classic water literature, government reports, legal transcripts, water project records, personal papers, photographic collections, and audio/video materials associated with four major river basins of the Western United States.
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information SystemSearch 1.89 million records, with links to 178,800 images, video and sound files from dozens of Smithsonian libraries, archives, museums, and specialized research units.
- Women Artists Archives National DirectoryAn innovative web directory to U.S. archival collections of primary source materials by and about women visual artists active in the U.S. since 1945.
- Publishers' Bindings OnlineA significant digital collection of 19th century decorative bindings and a comprehensive glossary and guide to the elements of these objects. These bindings reflect not only social and cultural history, but also bibliographic history.
- Rare Book RoomEducational site featuring digitized books (about 400 titles) on a wide range of topics and from many historical periods. Search and browse by 1) categories; 2) authors; and 3) holding repository. Examples of what you will find include selections from: Copernicus' On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Spheres (1543); Shakespeare quartos from major European collections; Andrea Palladio's The Four Books of Architecture (1570); and and William Blake's Songs of Innocence and of Experience (1794).
Historical Newspapers
- New York Times Historical NewspaperFully searchable text of the Times from 1851-2007. Find words anywhere in the text, including short items--like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads-- which have never before been indexed. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page. Use the ProQuest database for more recent NYTimes articles.
- Pennsylvania GazetteFolio I covers 1728-1750; folio II, 1751-1765; folio III, 1766- 1783; folio IV, 1784-1800: The new republic. Universal instructor in all arts and sciences, and Pennsylvania gazette; Pennsylvania gazette (Philadelphia, Pa. : 1729); Pennsylvania gazette and weekly advertiser; and: Pennsylvania gazette (Philadelphia, Pa. : 1782). There are also CD-ROMs located in the Multi-Media Center, call number AN2 .P4 U64 2 Folio no.1-4
- Utah Digital Newspapershis project digitizes a variety of local Utah newspapers from the late 18th to early 20th centuries. They are fully searchable and are presented as they appeared at the time.
- World Newspaper ArchiveA fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories. Includes Latin American Newspapers.
Subject Guide
