Art History
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized online and print resources for their study of topics within Art History.
Art History
Manet (detail) / deflam / Photo available on Flickr.com 
State & Local Organizations
A list in progress! Please forward your suggestions to the Fine Arts & Architecture Librarian.
- Utah Arts CouncilThe Utah Division of Arts and Museums is an agency of the state government of Utah, responsible for the promotion of the arts and Utah museums. The Division's goal is to promote innovation in and the growth of Utah’s arts and culture community. The Website provides links to professional development resources, publications, and news -- among other arts-related topics of interest.
- Utah Arts Festival (UAF)The Utah Arts Festival is the largest outdoor multi-disciplinary arts event in Utah. Having garnered numerous awards internationally, nationally and locally, the event remains one of the premiere events that kicks off the summer in Utah each June.
- 15 BytesUTAH'S ART MAGAZINE
Published by Artists of Utah, a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization, 15 BYTES has been UTAH'S ART MAGAZINE since 2001.
Our monthly edition is published on the first Wednesday of every month and we follow that up with daily bytes posts on this site.
Select Nat'l & Internat'l Organizations
- Association of Historians of Nineteenth Century Art (AHNCA)AHNCA's goal is to foster dialogue and communication among those who have a special interest in the field of nineteenth-century art and culture. Nineteenth-century art is broadly defined as all art that was produced between the American Revolution and the First World War, regardless of geographic boundaries.
- College Art Association (CAA)The CAA promotes the visual arts and their understanding through committed practice and intellectual engagement.
- The American Council for Southern Asian Art (ACSAA)The American Council for Southern Asian Art (ACSAA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing the study and awareness of the art of South and Southeast Asia and the Himalayan regions.
- Association of Academic Museums & Galleries (AAMG)The AAMG is the leading educational and professional organization for academic museums, galleries, and collections. In recognition of the unique opportunities and challenges of its constituents, the AAMG establishes and supports best practices, educational activities and professional development that enable its member organizations to fulfill their educational missions.
- Association of Historians of American Art (AHAA)AHAA mission is to promote scholarship in the historical art of the United States. The association sponsors 2 sessions at the CAA annual meeting, & its website includes information about current exhibitions, publications, and other news such as book reviews, course syllabi, and a searchable Membership Directory, all invaluable to current scholars in American art and available only to members. We also produce a bi-annual e-newsletter for members.
- Foundations in Art: Theory & Education (FATE)FATE is a national association dedicated to the promotion of excellence in the development and teaching of college-level foundation courses in both studio and art history.
- Historians of German and Central European Art & Architecture (HGCEAA)HGCEA is an affiliated society of the College Art Association that fosters the study of visual and material culture of Central Europe and enhances communication and cooperation among scholars working on the art and architecture of the region. The society publishes a newsletter, Eurotexture,and its members include American and European scholars (affiliated and independent) and graduate students.
- Historians of Netherlandish Art (HNA)Historians of Netherlandish Art is an international organization that fosters communication and collaboration among historians of Northern European art from medieval to modern times. Its membership comprises scholars, teachers, museum professionals, art dealers, publishers, book dealers, and collectors throughout the world who study art and architecture of the Netherlands (Dutch and Flemish), and of Germany and France, as it relates to the Netherlands, from about 1350 to 1750.
- Italian Art Society (IAS)The IAS is dedicated to the study of Italian art and architecture from prehistory to the present day. With a membership of more than 250 established and emerging scholars, graduate students, and aficionados, the IAS is a vital force in generating new knowledge about the visual arts on the Italian peninsula and neighboring islands.
- LeonardoLeonardo creates opportunities for the powerful exchange of ideas between practitioners in art, science and technology. Through publications, initiatives and public forums, Leonardo/ISAST facilitates cross-disciplinary research in these fields, seeking to catalyze fruitful solutions for the challenges of the 21st century.
- National Council of Arts Administrators (NCAA)is an organization of academic professionals dedicated to creating and maintaining a vital network of arts administrators. Our purpose is to promote communication between institutions, share ideas, and facilitate growth in the organization.
- Soceity for Photographic Education (SPE)The Society for Photographic Education is a nonprofit membership organization that provides a forum for the discussion of photography and related media as a means of creative expression and cultural insight.
- Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)The SAH was founded in 1940 to advance knowledge and understanding of the history of architecture, design, landscape, and urbanism worldwide. The Society serves scholars, professionals in allied fields (including architecture, historic preservation and planning), and the interested general public.
Select Web Resources for Art History
The open Web resources listed here are those recommended by the Fine Arts & Architecture Library - please let me know of resources you think should be added to this list.
- Archives of American Art: Research Collections (Smithsonian Institution)Holdings include: letters, diaries and scrapbooks of artists, dealers, and collectors; manuscripts of critics and scholars; business and financial records of museums, galleries, schools, and associations; photographs of art world figures and events; sketches and sketchbooks; rare printed material; film, audio and video recordings; and the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art—are a vital resource to anyone interested in American culture over the past 200 years.
- Art History Resources on the WebThis site, prepared by Christopher Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College, includes links to resources for and images of art from a wide range of styles, historical periods, and geographies.
- Art in ContextThe mission of Art in Context Center for Communications is to collect, contextualize, disseminate and preserve information about fine art through communication and information technologies. Art in Context Center for Communications serves as a multicultural fine art reference resource increasing the availability of information for education and research, and provides a forum for the freedom of artistic expression. Here you will find information about Artists and where to find their work.
- Art on Film OnlineArt on Film Online is a clearinghouse for information about film, video, CD-ROM and other interactive productions on fine arts, architecture, photography, decorative arts, and related topics. This Web site is a service of the Program for Art on Film, Inc., affiliated with the School of Information & Library Science (SILS) at Pratt Institute.
- Art21A nonprofit organization, Art21's mission is to increase knowledge of contemporary art, ignite discussion, and inspire creative thinking by documenting artists at work and in their own words. Contemporary American visual art makes an important contribution to our national.... Subscription is required for access, there is no cost for web materials.
- ArtcyclopediaGreat art online, from over 8,000 famous painters, sculptors and photographers, at art museum sites & image archives worldwide. http://www.artcyclopedia.com/index.html
- artnetartnet Galleries serves dealers and art buyers alike by providing a survey of the market and its pricing trends, as well as the means to communicate instantly, inexpensively and globally. Other key services include artnet Magazine and the Price Database. NOTE: Some content on this site is free; other information requires a paid subscription which is not provided through the Marriott Library.
- ArtSourceArtSource is a gathering point for networked resources on art and architecture. The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians, etc. This site is intended to be selective, rather than comprehensive.
- AskArtAskART is an online database containing information on more than 200,000 artists. The site offers extensive biographical information about American artists as well as book and periodical references, along with International artists' auction records images. Over 6,000 museums and dealers are also referenced.
- MoMA's DADABASE"Dadabase is the online catalog of The Museum of Modern Art Library and Study Centers, with selected holdings of the Museum Archives. Dadabase is part of Arcade, the catalog of the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC). Especially useful is the link to: Art Research FAQs http://moma.org/learn/resources/library/faq_art_research
- Nineteenth Century Art WorldwideA scholarly, refereed e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe. The journal covers the visual culture of all parts of the world—from the Americas to the Far East and from Scandinavia to Africa and Australia.
- Smithsonian Inititution Research & Information System (SIRIS)The Archives and Manuscripts Catalog contains descriptions of archival, manuscript, and special collection resources at the Smithsonian Institution, including institutional and organizational records, personal papers, manuscripts, special collections, oral histories, works of art, photographs, sound recordings, films, and other special media materials, from ten archival repositories at the Smithsonian.
- The ArtchiveThis resource, curated by Mark Harden, provides access to images, text and articles for private, non-profit use only. Other usage is strictly prohibited. Images are made available for educational purposes
- The Getty Research Institute: Search Tools & DatabasesUse the search tools below to access library materials, specialized databases, and other digital resources. Check out the Library Catalog; Collection Inventories & Finding Aids; and Research Guides & Bibliographies. NOTE: Some material will be accessible via the Internet, while other information will not.
- The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects.
- The Mother of All Art & Art History Links PageSponsored by the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan, this online art research guide includes links to: departments & schools of fine arts; resources for visual collections; image collections & online art; select online exhibitions; art museums; and textual & linguistic resources.
- Graphic AtlasDo you know how to tell the difference between a chromolithograph and offset lithography? Check out this cool new online resource sponsored by the Image Permanence Institute; it offers detailed images and tools for looking at magnified sections of prints, comparing processes, and even identifying paper finishes!
Subject Guide
Evaluating Sources
When you search for information -- whether on the open Web or in library databases, you're going to find lots of it . . . but is it good information?
You will have to determine that for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help.
The CRAAP Test, developed by the library at Chico State University, is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need. Give it a try!
