Audiovisual Formats: Home
Moving Image & Sound Archive
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated Nov 22, 2021 971 views this year
Dance in Utah
by Jessica Breiman Last Updated Aug 14, 2017 36 views this year
Digital Public Library of America
by Teresa Hebron Last Updated May 22, 2019 36 views this year
by Jessica Breiman Last Updated Apr 14, 2020 15 views this year
Utah Ski Archives
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated Sep 21, 2021 677 views this year
Film and Media Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Nov 29, 2021 1966 views this year
Utah Independent Film Archive
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated Nov 4, 2020 92 views this year
Welcome! I have created this guide to assist you in identifying rare and obsolete audio-visual formats. However, if you are interested in digitization services, please note that the Audio-Visual Archives does not provide on-demand digitization services. There are professional film labs that can assist you with that.
This guide could not include all AV formats, lest it get incredibly cumbersome. The focus here is on the most common obsolete and rare AV formats in the U.S. There are still more formats out there than are included in this guide, but I have done my best to include the formats you are most likely to find in your basement or the basement of your parents, grandparents, or other relatives!
Unless otherwise noted, all photos were taken by me of items that are the property of the Multimedia Archives at J. Willard Marriott Library, University of Utah.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me or Molly (see the contact info on the right).
The Audio-Visual Archive is located on the Fourth Floor and is part of the Multimedia division of Special Collections. We are a repository for unique moving image and sound material from Utah and the West.
Our collections include:
- Student and independent films
- Oral histories
- Home movies
- Local news, sports and radio programs
- And many other rare and fascinating materials representative of the region's rich cultural and social history!
We are constantly working to make more of this vast and ever growing resource available digitally to students and the public for viewing, research and other artistic purposes. A number of collections already have finding aids or clips available online.