ULibraries Research Guides: Middle East Studies: Dictionaries &amp; Encyclopedia

Call numbers for the history and culture of Arabic countries

The corresponding call numbers for the history and culture of Arabic countries are found on the east side of Level 2:

Saudi Arabia DS201-DS248
Egypt DT43-DT154
Lebanon DS80-DS90
Iraq DS67-DS79
Sudan DT154-DT159
Libya DT211-DT239
Tunisia DT241-DT269
Algeria DT271-DT299
Morocco DT301-DT330
Syria DS92-DS99
Eritrea DT391-DT393
Israel and Palestine DS101-DS110
Somalia DT401-DT409
UAE, Bahrain, Yemen, Kuwait, Oman,
Qatar and Oman DS247-DS248

Gallery

Historical Dictionary of Islam

Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Dictionary of the Middle East

Historical Dictionary of Israel

A Dictionary of Islam: Being a Cyclopaedia

Find Articles

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) database is the world's most comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary dissertations and theses, and has metadata from 1606-current and full text from 1997-current, with select older titles.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.
Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study including, but no limited to biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology.
Jstor Images
To log into ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a (free) account within ARTstor while on campus.
The Jstor Image Library is an image database featuring a range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indones…

The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Topics include world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and others. The collection indexes more than 3,100 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Coverage dates vary by title.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Jou…

The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Major areas of coverage include Accounting, Archaeology, Arts Bibliography & Scholarship, Economics, Education, the Middle East, Geography, History, Islam, Law, Literature, Natural & Applied Sciences, Philosophy, Politics, Religion, Social Sciences, Theology, Travel, and Zoology.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
WorldCat
WorldCat's search covers over 30 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. The database has holdings information for many US and some foreign libraries, and is updated daily. WorldCat Quick Search is also available to the general public."

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Islam by Ludwig W. Adamec
Call Number: BP50 .A33 2001

ISBN: 0810839628

Publication Date: 2001
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor)
Call Number: D114 .D5 1982

ISBN: 0684167603

Publication Date: 1982-11-01

The interim index "covers the material covered in Volumes 1 through 4 and ... the entries in Volume 5." -- Pref.
Includes bibliographies.
A Dictionary of the Middle East by Dilip Hiro
Call Number: DS43 .H57 1996

ISBN: 0312125542

Publication Date: 1996-05-15

The term 'Middle East' conjures up a multitude of images and concepts in the western mind. Sand dunes, camels, nomads. Gushing oil wells. Saddam Hussein. Terrorists, assassins, hostage-takers. Babylon. Islamic fundamentalism. OPEC... Thorough and cool-headed, the dictionary will prove indispensable not only to journalists, academics, diplomats, business people and students but also to all travellers to the region.
A Dictionary of Islam: Being a Cyclopaedia of the Doctrines, Rites, Ceremonies, and Customs by Thomas Patrick Hughes 1838-1911
Call Number: BP40 .H8 1885

A Dictionary of Islam: Being a Cyclopaedia of the Doctrines, Rites, Ceremonies, and Customs, Together with the Technical and Theological Terms of the Muhammadan Religion.
Historical Dictionary of Israel by Bernard Reich
Call Number: DS126.5 .R38 1992

ISBN: 081082535X

Publication Date: 1992-09-01

Few countries have been the focal point of more substantial and continuing international attention and aroused more controversy than Israel. War and the quest for peace have been dominant themes in Israel's history and have affected all aspects of its national and international situation. Despite this preoccupation with survival and security, Israel has integrated millions of disparate immigrants into a single Israeli population.
The Middle East by Lawrence Ziring
Call Number: DS61 .Z58 1992

ISBN: 0874366976

Publication Date: 1992-08-01
Historical Dictionary of the Druzes by Samy S. Swayd
Call Number: BL1695 .S93 2006

ISBN: 0810853329

Publication Date: 2006-01-12

This dictionary provides nearly one thousand concise and informative cross-referenced A to Z entries on religious, political, and cultural themes, as well as entries on a number of major families and individuals (artists, writers, diplomats, and leaders) who have contributed to the Druze communities. This volume is also complemented with a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and several maps, plates, and genealogical tables.

Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson (Editor); Frederick W. Norris (Editor); Michael P. McHugh (Editor)
Call Number: BR162.2 .E53 1997

ISBN: 0815316631

Publication Date: 1997
The Coptic Encyclopedia by Aziz Suryal Atiya (Editor)
Call Number: BX130.5 .C66 1991

ISBN: 002897025X (set)

Publication Date: 1991-03-01
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Call Number: All editions available online. DS37. E532
Encyclopaedia Iranica by Ehsan Yarshater (Editor)
Call Number: Available online and in print
The Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern Mythology and Religion by Jan Knappert
Call Number: BL1060 .K58 1993

Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East by Richard W. Bulliet (Editor); Reeva S. Simon (Editor); Philip Mattar (Editor)
Call Number: DS43 .E53 1996

ISBN: 0028960114
An Historical Atlas of Islam by Hugh Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: G1786 .S1 H6 2002
An Historical Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by Bernard Reich
Call Number: DS119.7 .H544 1996

ISBN: 031327374X

Publication Date: 1996
Holy Quran
Call Number: BP100 1965a
The Jewish Encyclopedia: A Descriptive Record of the History, Religion, Literature, and Customs of the Jewish People from the Earliest Times to the Present Day by Isidore Singer 1859-1939 ; Cyrus Adler 1863-1940
Call Number: BM50 .J4

Publication Date: 1901-1906
Muslim Peoples : a World Ethnographic Survey by Richard V. Weekes
Call Number: DS35.625 .A1 M87 1984

ISBN: 0313233926

Publication Date: 1984

This greatly enlarged revision now contains entries for nearly 200 linguistic groups that are partially or wholly Muslim. . . . This is still the most comprehensive resource of its kind. Choice
New Jewish Encyclopedia by David Bridger 1907-
Call Number: D102.8 .N4
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'An by Jane Dammen McAuliffe (Editor)
Call Number: BP133 .E53 2001

ISBN: 9004114653

Publication Date: 2001-

"The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-fifth of the world's population and has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an contains alphabetically arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history, and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. With over 750 entries, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in Western languages."