This book examines politics and social dynamics in the Middle East today from diverse disciplinary perspectives, including religion, economics, gender, human rights, literature, media and music.
This book provides a detailed exploration of the forces, internal and external, that have shaped today¿s Middle East. The book follows a chronological order and provides context to major political milestones.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Major areas of coverage include Accounting, Archaeology, Arts Bibliography & Scholarship, Economics, Education, the Middle East, Geography, History, Islam, Law, Literature, Natural & Applied Sciences, Philosophy, Politics, Religion, Social Sciences, Theology, Travel, and Zoology.
This database is a bibliographic index of public policy, social policy, and social sciences literature. Materials indexed by the database include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and other forms of printed literature from around the world. Access also is available to the PAIS archive which covers 1915-1976."
The Global Economic Monitor (GEM) is produced by the World Bank's Prospects Group of the Development Economics Vice-Presidency (DECPG). GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high-income as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations.
This database provides access to a collection of sociological and demographic data. The majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no restrictions on their access. ICPSR provides access to restricted use versions that retain confidential data by imposing stringent requirements for accessing them. The datasets which are available to the University of Utah are included in this collection. Topics covered by this database include criminal justice, health and aging, substance abuse and mental health, child care, and health and medical care.
Making the new Middle East : politics, culture, and human rights by 
Middle East Politics and International Relations by 
