Originally published in 1983, The Cambridge History of Arabic Literature was the first general survey of the field to have been published in English for over fifty years and the first attempted in such detail in a multi-volume form. The volumes of the History provide an invaluable source of reference and understanding of the intellectual, literary and religious heritage of the Arabic-speaking and Islamic world.
The Literature of Al-Andalus is an exploration of the culture of Iberia, present-day Spain and Portugal, during the period when it was an Islamic, mostly Arabic-speaking territory, from the eighth to the thirteenth century, and in the centuries following the Christian conquest when Arabic continued to be widely used. The volume embraces many other related spheres of Arabic culture including philosophy, art, architecture and music.
The Database includes "public" and "private" documents: royal decrees and orders, official correspondence, and shari'a court documents, such as contracts of sale and lease, vaqf deeds, marriage contracts, and court orders. It also serves as a bibliographic reference tool, being a continually updated repertoire of published historical documents.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library includes examples from over 400 years of books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages from the period. Users can search on the full text of items in Arabic, English, French, German, Latin, Italian, Dutch and Spanish while also being able to view content in Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Syriac and more.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library includes examples from over 400 years of books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages from the period. Users can search on the full text of items in Arabic, English, French, German, Latin, Italian, Dutch and Spanish while also being able to view content in Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Syriac and more.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in various fields of Jewish studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, drawn pimarily from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The collection includes offprints of articles from journals or collections, as well as listings of artic…
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in various fields of Jewish studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, drawn pimarily from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The collection includes offprints of articles from journals or collections, as well as listings of articles from secondary sources. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research or contain information for such research.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indones…
The Encyclopaedia of Islam provides access to articles on distinguished Muslims and their tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, their history, and information about the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, topography and monuments of their major towns, cities and countries. The encyclopaedia is focused historically and geographically on the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Jou…
The Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes work written about the Middle East, the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Major areas of coverage include Accounting, Archaeology, Arts Bibliography & Scholarship, Economics, Education, the Middle East, Geography, History, Islam, Law, Literature, Natural & Applied Sciences, Philosophy, Politics, Religion, Social Sciences, Theology, Travel, and Zoology.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new ful…
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.
WorldCat's search covers over 30 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. The database has holdings information for many US and some foreign libraries, and is updated daily. WorldCat Quick Search is also available to the general public.
Note: WorldCat Discovery Services will replace OCLC FirstSearch in late 2016. WorldCat Discovery is available to all current OCLC FirstSearch subscribers as part of existing subscriptions. FirstSearch will operate in parallel with WorldCat Discovery through the end of access date, allowing libraries to choose their transition timing. WorldCat Local and WorldShare Management Services subscribers have access to WorldCat Discovery and all optional features.
This collection covers aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Includes the MLA Directory of PeriodicalsThis database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to records in over 3,000 journals and series, as well as a collection of monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
This database provides access to the full text of over 400 scholarly peer reviewed journals by over 100 publishers in the humanities and social sciences.
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics by 
Arabic literature in the post-classical period by 
Arabic Literature to the End of the Umayyad Period by 
The Literature of Al-Andalus by 
