Writing 2010 Library & Research Guide

Need help organizing your citations?  Try one of the systems below, which are all freely available to you as a student at the U of U.  These systems will also help you create your bibliography for your paper.   If you have any questions or difficulty using one of these systems, contact your librarian for help.

• EndNote Basic is free to U of U students, staff, and faculty
• Can directly import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
• Can create bibliographies in over 6,000 citation styles
• Compatible with Zotero and Mendeley

• Mendeley is freely available
• Can import citations from many library databases and webpages
• Can create bibliographies in over 6,000 citation styles
• Can share citations through groups feature
• Has cite-while-you-write feature

• NoodleTools is free to U of U students, staff, and faculty
• Self-guided tool that teaches how to properly document sources in MLA, APA or Chicago/Turabian
• Produces a fully formatted Works Cited/References page
• Can copy/paste citations from some library databases
• Can create bibliographies in 3 citation styles

• Zotero is free and open-source
• Easy to import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
• Can import dozens of citations at a time from Google Scholar
• Can create bibliographies in over 6,000 citation styles
• Compatible with EndNote Basic and Mendeley
• Has cite-while-you-write feature

This video is a quick introduction to all of the tools available to you within Noodletools as a research project management system.

It allows you to create projects individually and share with groups for group work.  It teaches you how to build citations and how to read citations through producing them.  it helps you store your selected citations and attach them to an outline.  It produces a final references or works cited page.

This will help you immensely as you move through your college career.