Markets & Marketing Research Guide
Conducting Market Research
There are many options on how to conduct market research. Below are resources that help with conducting, analyzing, and sharing Market Research. The items are available with your university, and if you are asked to login, use your U credentials.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowProquest's Business Market Research Collection conducts company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowGallup continually surveys residents in more than 150 countries that are home to more than 99% of the world's population, using randomly selected, nationally representative samples. Gallup typically surveys 1,000 individuals in each country, using a standard set of core questions that has been translated into the major languages of the respective country. In some regions, supplemental questions are asked in addition to core questions. Face-to-face interviews are approximately one hour, while telephone interviews are about 30 minutes. In many countries, the survey is conducted once per year, and fieldwork is generally completed in two to four weeks. The Country Data Set Details document displays each country's sample size, month/year of the data collection, mode of interviewing, languages employed, design effect, margin of error, and details about sample coverage.
Methods Beyond Interviewing in Qualitative Market Research by Call Number: EbookISBN: 1281362239Publication Date: 2010-01-10
Storytelling and Market Research by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781000473360Publication Date: 2021-11-10
Retail and e-Commerce Market Research 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833451Publication Date: 2024
Entertainment and Leisure Market Research 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833437Publication Date: 2024
Collecting Data
Below are tools for conducting and gathering market research.
- Qualtrics Survey software which allows users online data collection through a variety of methods
- Research Data Access Resources Marriott Library has a department dedicated to data research. This link takes you to their guide that identifies electronic datasets that support statistical research in the social sciences. The experts contact information are available. You can reach out to them for help with visualization.
- Survey Monkey is a free survey software tool that allows you to create and publish online surveys and questionnaires.
- Google Forms - create and analyze surveys is a free resource that allows users to create surveys and analyze results.
- American Community Survey: Data Tables & Tools provided by the U.S. Census Bureau
- U.S. Census Bureau: Video Tutorials on how to use data.census.gov, Census API, and Microdata Access
- Data.gov is the U.S. Government's Open Data where you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Visualization Tools
Below are tools used to create visuals for your presentation. Always be sure to read the license agreements before using online materials.
- Canva is a freee resources to create infographic charts and visualization documents
- Google Slides are slide templates for every use case
- Slides Carnival allows you to download your presentation as a PowerPoint template
- Coolors.co is a color palette generator.
- Flaticon allows you to download free icons and stickers
- Pexels free stock photos and videos
- pixabay provides royalty free stock photos and videos
- Unsplash provides free stock photos that can be used for commercial and noncommercial purposes
- Freepik has a number free icons and free mockups
- Slidesgo provides free PowerPoint, Google Slides and Canva templates
- Human Terrain provides visualizes of the worlds population in 3D
- Microsoft Office provides templates and themes
Competitive Landscape
Competitive intelligence is understanding a company's industry and industry rivals, so a company can make better business decisions. This also includes identifying market entry opportunities and studying market trends. The SBA and databases below provide this type of information.
- Markets and Markets This link opens in a new windowNOTE:Access limited to University of Utah students, faculty, and staff. MarketsandMarkets provides quantified B2B research on 30,000 high growth emerging opportunities/threats which will impact 70% to 80% of worldwide companies' revenues. Currently servicing 7500 customers worldwide including 80% of globalFortune 1000 companies as clients. Almost 75,000 top officers across eight industries worldwide approach MarketsandMarkets for their painpoints around revenues decisions. Our 850 fulltime analyst and SMEs at MarketsandMarkets are tracking global high growth markets following the "Growth Engagement Model - GEM". The GEM aims at proactive collaboration with the clients to identify new opportunities, identify most important customers, write "Attack, avoid and defend" strategies, identify sources of incremental revenues for both the company and its competitors. MarketsandMarkets now coming up with 1,500 MicroQuadrants (Positioning top players across leaders, emerging companies, innovators, strategic players) annually in high growth emerging segments. MarketsandMarkets™ is determined to benefit more than 10,000 companies this year for their revenue planning and help them take their innovations/disruptions early to the market by providing them research ahead of the curve. MarketsandMarkets's flagship competitive intelligence and market research platform, "Knowledgestore" connects over 200,000 markets and entire value chains for deeper understanding of the unmet insights along with market sizing and forecasts of niche markets.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowAcademic institutions around the globe subscribe to BCC Research to utilize the vast library of market research reports that aid students, professors, and technology transfer professionals in conducting research projects. Students appreciate the depth and specificity of BCC Research reports, finding it easy to uncover all of the data they need, from growth trends and market opportunities to geographic breakdowns and company profiles.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to licensed content from Dow Jones journalists, media outlets, trade and consumer publications and business Web sites. Factiva also contains in-depth company, executive and industry profiles, expert analysis, market data and other reports.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
Free Resources
- Consumer Price Index - The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
- Producer Price Index (PPI) - The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services
- Nielsen 2024 Annual Marketing Report - Nielsen surveyed marketers around the world to understand where they’re spending, what their goals are and what’s getting in the way of maximizing their ROI. By analyzing these plans and priorities, we’ve developed recommendations to sharpen your own ROI strategies for 2024 and beyond.
