Geography

1. Consult a style manual
2. Use citation software (EndNote, Zotero, etc...) to collect and format citations
3. Use Google Scholar "Cite" to format your citation
4. Export or print formatted citations from research databases
5. Ask a librarian for help.

If you are only using scholarly journals and books it's fairly straightforward to cite your sources.   However, if you are also citing maps, datasets, websites, legal information and so on things can get more complicated.   Librarians will be happy to help you cite your sources properly in the style required by a professor or editor.

Need help organizing your citations?  Try one of the systems below, which are all freely available to you as a student at the U of U.  These systems will also help you create your bibliography for your paper.   If you have any questions or difficulty using one of these systems, contact your librarian for help.

• EndNote Basic is free to U of U students, staff, and faculty
• Can directly import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
• Can create bibliographies in over 6,000 citation styles
• Compatible with Zotero and Mendeley

• Mendeley is freely available
• Can import citations from many library databases and webpages
• Can create bibliographies in over 6,000 citation styles
• Can share citations through groups feature
• Has cite-while-you-write feature

• NoodleTools is free to U of U students, staff, and faculty
• Self-guided tool that teaches how to properly document sources in MLA, APA or Chicago/Turabian
• Produces a fully formatted Works Cited/References page
• Can copy/paste citations from some library databases
• Can create bibliographies in 3 citation styles

• Zotero is free and open-source
• Easy to import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
• Can import dozens of citations at a time from Google Scholar
• Can create bibliographies in over 6,000 citation styles
• Compatible with EndNote Basic and Mendeley
• Has cite-while-you-write feature

The University Writing Center is here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with peer tutors.  We work on papers from all disciplines - not just writing classes. Best of all, the Writing Center is a FREE service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.

The University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the Marriott Library in room 2701.
Make an appointment