Movement in Culture through History: Magazine & Journal Articles
Start Your Dance Research Here!
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD)Journal, magazine, and reference book articles addressing the history of theater in societies around the world; theory of theater movements and genres; and analysis of productions, companies, and individuals.
News Sources
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of many international sources. Access World News focuses on local and regional news from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East. It covers a variety of local and international developments related to industry, politics, economics, science & technology, sports, culture and business.
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA part of the Accessible Archives collection, this database provides access to a selection of prominent African-American newspapers. The Marriott Library has purchased access to a portion of this database which includes papers like Freedom's Journal, The North Star, Colored American, National Era, Frederick Douglass Paper, Provincial Freeman, The Christian Recorder, and the Douglass Monthly Supplement. The Archives also include a rotatin…
- Los Angeles Times Archive This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the searchable text of the New York Times from 1851-2016. Many parts of the text besides the articles themselves are also searchable, including short items like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes Databases: Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Newsstream, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal.
- San Francisco Chronicle Archive includes current content This link opens in a new windowSan Francisco Chronicle from 1865 to current content.
Cross-disciplinary Article Databases
Your dance research may be interdisciplinary or occur in a specific historical period or geographic region. Explore these databases for additional articles.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in a range of subjects in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, arts, and medicine. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals.
- JSTORFull-text articles and images from the back runs (most recent 3-5 year not available) of selective, interdisciplinary scholarly journals, including dance- and performing arts-related journals.
- Project MuseFull text coverage of more than 150 journals published by university presses, with a collection specifically geared toward film, theater, and the performing arts. Coverage: 1993-present.
- Historical AbstractsFocuses on non-US/Canada history, from 1450 to the present. Some full-text articles; most are citations with abstracts. Searches can be limited to a specific time period.
- America: History and LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present; see Historical Abstracts for world history. Covers over 2000 journals plus book reviews and dissertations.
- Dissertations & Theses: GlobalProvides abstracts for dissertations written from 1637-current. Full-text is available for most dissertations written since 1997, and for a few prior to 1997.
- Religion & Philosophy CollectionProvides coverage of topics related to world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
