Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers will provide you with broader coverage and more details about local communities--such as Salt Lake City, Utah, and Mountain West region--than scholarly journals and magazines. The news databases below will provide access to newspaper archives that may not be available for free on a newpaper's website.
Covers: 1995-present. Regional and national U.S. newspapers. Television news transcripts. International newspapers.
Covers: approx. 1985-present. Regional and national U.S. newspapers, and international newspapers.
Utah Digital Newspapers
Digitized, full-text editions of small-town and major Utah newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
State & Local Government Agencies
The websites of state and local governments, departments, and agencies can provide useful information about the constituents they serve, such as cultural and entertainment events, community centers, developement initiatives, and much more!
Official portal for Utah's government, residents, educational institutions, services, and visitors to the state.
Utah Department of Heritage & Arts
Comprised of six divisions: Arts & Museums, Multicultural Affairs, Indian Affairs, State History (aka Utah Historical Society), State Library, and U Serve Utah (Commission on Service & Volunteerism)
Salt Lake City
Main government website provides access to city and neighborhood councils' meeting minutes, advisory boards' missions and documents, a calendar of city events, and links to local arts and civic organizations.
The Downtown Alliance
The Downtown Alliance is a non-profit organization serving the downtown property owners, businesses, and residents whose mission is to build a dynamic and diverse community that is a regional center for culture, commerce, and entertainment.
Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce
A private, non-profit, member-supported organization that promotes economic and civic progress through business and community partnerships.
Salt Lake City: Community & Economic Development
The CED Department is made up of seven divisions: Arts Council, Building Services, Economic Development, Engineering, Housing and Neighborhood Development, Planning and Transportation.
Salt Lake County
Main government website provides access to council's meeting minutes, departments' missions and documents, a calendar of events, and links to local arts and civic organizations.