ULibraries Research Guides: Bibliometrics and Impact Factor: Citation Searching

Mobile Websites

Databases make research on the go easy with Mobile websites and RSS Feeds:

RSS Feeds
Learn about RSS Feeds.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.

Databases with Citation Alerts

Manage your Search Alerts, Author Citation Alerts and Document Citation Alerts with these tools:

Scopus
My Alerts
Web of Science
My Citation Alerts
You must use a library computer to access this resource.
PsycINFO
Alert Me

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window

Useful Databases for Citation Searching

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Use the Document search to search for specific articles and find out how many times they have been cited. The Cited Reference search will also allow you to look up citation information for specific articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Like Web of Science, use the Documents search to see how many times items indexed in Scopus have been cited by other indexed materials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to find out how many times specific materials have been cited by looking at the links beneath the article information. You can also search by author name to find author profiles, which show items that the author has produced and how often they have been cited.
Using this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and select the options for the University of Utah which appear below the text field. Hit 'Save' at the bottom right of the page, and you will then be ready to start using Google Scholar.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Each article entry in PubMed contains a list of articles cited by the publication and articles that the publication has cited as well.

Using Bibliometrics

Using Bibliometrics
A Guide to Evaluating Research Performance with Citation Data

WHITE PAPER Using Bibliometrics in Evaluating Research by David A. Pendlebury, Research Department, Thomson Reuters, Philadelphia, PA USA