Intro to Dance Research: Magazine & Journal Articles
Start Your Dance Research Here!
-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD)Journal, magazine, and reference book articles addressing the history of theater in societies around the world; theory of theater movements and genres; and analysis of productions, companies, and individuals.
-
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowThe only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
Cross-disciplinary Article Databases
Your dance research may be interdisciplinary or occur in a specific historical period or geographic region. Explore these databases for additional articles.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information on a range of subjects including the arts, humanities sciences, social sciences, business, health, and more.
-
America: History and LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present; see Historical Abstracts for world history. Covers over 2000 journals plus book reviews and dissertations.
-
Historical AbstractsFocuses on non-US/Canada history, from 1450 to the present. Some full-text articles; most are citations with abstracts. Searches can be limited to a specific time period.
-
JSTORFull-text articles and images from the back runs (most recent 3-5 year not available) of selective, interdisciplinary scholarly journals, including dance- and performing arts-related journals.
-
Project MuseFull text coverage of more than 150 journals published by university presses, with a collection specifically geared toward film, theater, and the performing arts. Coverage: 1993-present.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large, abstract and citation database that is updated daily and offers access to 100+ million records including journal articles, conference papers, open access items, books, and book chapters. Scopus covers various subject disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of full-text sports & sports medicine journals extending back to 1985 (some exceptions). Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology, coaching & education, and sports medicine.
Dance Librarian
