ULibraries Research Guides: Intro to Dance Research: Dancer Health

Article and Media Resources

Anatomy.TV
Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
Consumer Health Database
Consumer Health database includes journals and magazines covering a wide range of health topics, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. The collection contains searchable full-text articles from over 165 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. The content of this collection is tailored for consumers.
SPORTDiscus
A source for sports & sports medicine journals, with full-text coverage extending back to 1985. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology, coaching & education, and sports medicine.

You can find lots of books and videos about dancer health by searching for "Dancing Injuries" or "Dancers--Health and Hygiene" , or for related topics like Pilates, in Usearch, the library catalog. These are few of the recent acquisitions:

Dance Injuries by Jeffrey A. Russell, 2024
This is an e-book. You must be on a UofU network or have a current uNID to access it.
Nutrition for Dance and Performance by Jasmine Challis, 2023
This is an e-book. You must be on a UofU network or have a current uNID to access it.
Dance Medicine in Practice by Liane Simmel
This is an e-book. You must be on a UofU network or have a current uNID to access it.
Finding Balance by Gigi Berardi, 2013
This is an e-book. A current uNID & password is required for access.
Live at Broadway Dance Center: the care and feeding of a dancer by Toni Branner
This is a streaming video. You must be on a UofU network or have a current uNID to access it.
Conditioning for Dancers by Tom Welsh
Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: GV1589.W475 2009
Teaching Pilates for Postural Faults, Illness and Injury by Jane Paterson
Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection:
RA781.4.P38 2009