Intro to Dance Research: Dance Reviews
Find Performance Reviews in Databases
Reviews of dance performances are primarily published in newspapers, popular magazines, and book anthologies. Knowing when the piece was produced is crucial information for locating reviews. These databases provide citations and some full-text reviews from local and international newspapers and magazines.
- JSTORFull-text articles and images from the back runs (most recent 3-5 year not available) of selective, interdisciplinary scholarly journals, including dance- and performing arts-related journals.
- Utah Digital NewspapersPrint newspapers digitized and fully searchable. Includes Salt Lake Tribune (1871-2004) and Utah Daily Chronicle (1892 - 1992).
- New York Times HistoricalCovers: 1851-2006. Full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to the first issues.
- Times Digital Archive (London Times) 1785-2012 This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of The Times of London going back to its first issue, January 1, 1785.
- Los Angeles Times ArchiveThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- San Francisco Chronicle ArchivesCovers: 1869-current. Full-text coverage of the San Francisco Chronicle going back to the first issues.
- Reader's Guide RetrospectiveCovers: 1890-1982. This resource focuses on popular magazines, such as Time, Newsweek, Ladies' Home Journal, etc.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window(Formerly known as Lexis-Nexis). Search "News" sources to find the full text and transcripts of performance/arts reviews in broadcast, newspaper, and magazine sources.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers: approx. 1985-present. Regional and national U.S. newspapers, and major international newspapers.
- ProQuest Global NewstreamCovers: approx. 1985-present. Regional and national U.S. newspapers, and major international newspapers.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes current and historical U.S. regional newspapers plus transcripts of broadcast news programs.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a full-image archive of the Wall Street Journal. Every issue from 1889-1995 is included and features the complete paper cover-to-cover with full page and article images in PDF form.
Find Performance Reviews in Print Materials
Find Reviews in Print Materials
Do a Subject search in the library catalog for the words:
This search will turn up a dozen books with dance reviews and essays.