Intro to Dance Research: Video, Image, Music Resources
Image & Video Databases
Videos and images can provide information and a visual element to your paper/presentation.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video: Volumes I & II This link opens in a new windowFeatures streaming videos of 20th century dance performances and documentaries about choreographers and dance training. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
- OnTheBoards.TVProvides streamed access to 50+ dance, music, theater, and experimental/installation art performances, captured on multiple HD cameras by the Seattle-based performing arts venue On The Boards.
- Medici.TV This link opens in a new windowStreaming media of over 1,200 classical music and dance programs. Also frequently features live broadcasts from around the world.
- Films on DemandThis database provides access to a large collection of educational and documentary films. This includes broadcasts of dance performances and films featuring dance companies and individual performers/choreographers.
- Naxos Video LibraryA performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts, among others, and is continuously updated.
- SwankThis database provides streaming access to feature and documentary films from Hollywood studios. Films are specifically selected to support curricular needs.
- Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new windowAnatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
- Theatre in Video IProvides streaming videos of performances by theatre companies around the world. Also features documentaries and interviews, including "The Legacy Project," which features young playwrights, composers, and lyricists interviewing establish ones. Create a user account share playlists and link to clips.
- Theatre in Video IIContains classic and contemporary plays and documentaries, with a focus on contemporary and international productions. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including new performances from Stratford Shakespeare Festival, the BBC, Theatre Arts Films (including, Play it Safe and TMW Media Group.
- American History in VideoProvides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 4,248 titles, equaling approximately 1,031 hours.
- ARTstorProvides curated collections of more than 2 million images of art, architecture, artifacts, and primary documents, including costume and set renderings, playbills, production photos, etc. Time periods range from ancient to modern and geographic locations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. (Off-campus? Read "More" information below.)
- The Vogue ArchiveComprises every issue--more than 400,000 pages--in high resolution color from 1892 to today. Search by designer, photographer, model, author, advertiser, label/brand, article of clothing, fabric/material, color, and more!
Sound & Music
Dance on DVD and VHS
Marriott Library owns hundreds of dance performances, interviews, and master classes on DVD and VHS. Most of these items are not available from online/streaming sources.
Click here for a list of dance-related DVDs owned by Marriott Library (sorted by most recent to oldest)
Click here for a list of dance-related VHS tapes owned by Marriott Library (sorted by most recent to oldest)
Is there a DVD/BluRay/Streaming video you'd like us to buy? Use the Suggest a Purchase form, or contact Greg Hatch.
Special Collections: Multimedia Archives
Marriott Library's Special Collections Audio Visual Archives department houses copies of local/regional materials, including films, related to dance, such as performances of Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company and Ballet West.
- For materials that are already digitized and available online, check out: UofU Dance Theses: AV Digital Archives.
- For a list of all the dance materials held by the Marriott Library's Special Collections, search Archives West.
- Limit repository results to "University of Utah, Special Collections"
- You can request to view these items at the Special Collections desk on Level 4. Call or fill out the Online Contact Form and give them the Collection Number plus any specific box or folder numbers.
- If the records don't specifically identify that something is video or photographs, contact Special Collections directly and ask them.
- Also check out this Dance in Utah guide.
Marriott Library Digital Collections
Marriott Library hosts more than 100 oustanding digital collections, containing 1+ million digital photographs, newspapers, maps, books, audio recordings, and other items. The following may be of particular interest for Architecture research.
- Media Streaming @ Marriott LibraryWatch selected documentary & educational films owned by Marriott Library.
- Mountain West Digital LibraryThe Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections about the Mountain West region of the United States. This portal provides free access to more than 270,000 resources in over 300 collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, Idaho, and Hawaii.
- USpace / Institutional RepositoryA collaborative project between the libraries at the University of Utah and the University community. Its goal is to collect and archive the intellectual capital of the institution and make those scholarly materials freely available on the Internet. The repository includes three distinct collections: Theses and Dissertations (written by UofU students), U Scholar Works (peer-reviewed articles), and Electronic University Archives (other materials produced by and about the UofU).
- Utah Digital NewspapersThe Utah Digital Newspapers makes historic Utah newspapers available to the general public over the Internet. We create a database of digital images and searchable text from old newspapers and make it accessible from our website. At this writing, the database holds 750,000 pages from 58 distinct titles, from 1850-1982.
- Jacob's Pillow: Dance Interactive"An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today,
plus multi-media essays and a related podcast."
- PBS "Great Performances"50-year archive of PBS broadcasts of live stage performances. Most are clips, some are full episodes.
- NumeridanseMultimedia dance platform that offers free access to filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, and dance videos. Genres, styles, and forms showcased include: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, and circus arts.
- Asian Traditional Theatre & DanceAn image & video illustrated encyclopedia of names and terms related to the Asian performing arts, spanning 12 countries and focusing on the traditional forms of theatre and dance.
- Merce Cunningham's Dance Capsules"Eighty-six of Merce Cunningham's dances were selected for digital preservation. Each Dance Capsule provides an array of assets essential to the study and reconstruction of this iconic artist's choreographic work."
- Chamber Dance CompanyThe dance company at the University of Washington
- The Ohio State University Digital Dance ArchiveHistorical and contemporary images and videos from the Division of Dance at OSU.
- Ubu Web DanceRead more about it here.
- Movement Research: Critical CorrespondenceA web-based publication of Movement Research that provides a forum for diverse engagements with artistic practice, research, and the contexts that surround the field of dance.
- NYPL Digital Dance CollectionAlso check out their Dance Theater Workshop Video Archive and
Dance Oral History Project
- Library of Congress Digital Archives: Dance ResearchThe digital collections with dance materials include worldwide traditional dances, European and American social dance practices, ballet and modern dance, and more!
Digitized items include choreographic notes, photographs, musical scores, moving images, sound recordings, rare books, and artwork.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDigitized images, texts, videos, and sounds from archives and libraries across the United States.
- EuropeanaDigitized art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions across Europe.
- Dance Heritage CoalitionA national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance.
- Dance Films AssociationThe catalyst for the production, presentation, and preservation of dance on camera.