Art History
Silk Road Research
The Digital Silk Road's YouTube Channel. (See box below for more details about the DSR.)
In the Marriott Library
Buddhism and Islam on the Silk Road by Call Number: BP173 .B9 E48 2010 General Collection LVL 2ISBN: 0812242378Publication Date: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2010
The Silk Road : two thousand years in the heart of Asia by Call Number: DS33.1 .W66 2002 General Collection LVL 2ISBN: 0520237862Publication Date: UC Prese, 2002
Conservation of ancient sites on the Silk Road : proceedings of the second international conference on the conservation of grotto sites, Mogao Grottoes, Dunhuang, People's Republic of China, June 28-July 3, 2004 by Call Number: ND2849.D85 C66 2010 General Collection LVL 2ISBN: 1606060139Publication Date: Getty Conservation Institute, 2010
Add to e-Shelf Art, religion, and politics in medieval China : the Dunhuang cave of the Zhai Family by Call Number: N8193.C6 N56 2004 General Collection LVL 2ISBN: 0824827031Publication Date: University of Hawai'i Press, 2004
Performing the visual : the practice of Buddhist wall painting in China and Central Asia, 618-960 by Call Number: ND2849.D86 F73 2004 General Collection LVL 2ISBN: 0804745331Publication Date: Stanford Univ Press, 2004
Aurel Stein / Paul Pelliot --In the Library
Serindia : detailed report of explorations in Central Asia and westernmost China
Sir Aurel Stein (Delhi : Motilal Banarsidass, 1980-83) v. 1-3. Text -- v. 4. Plates -- v. 5. Maps.
Fine Arts Libary DS793 .S62 S72 1980
Grottes de Touen-Houang : carnet de notes de Paul Pelliot : inscriptions et peintures murales
Paul Pelliot (Paris : Collège de France, Instituts d'Asie, Centre de recherche sur l'Asie centrale et la Haute Asie, 1981-1992) [1.] Grottes 1 à 30 -- 2. Grottes 31 à 72 -- 3. Grottes 73 à 111a -- 4. Grottes 112a à 120n -- 5. Grottes 120n à 146 -- 6. Grottes 146a à 182 et divers.
Fine Arts Library BQ244 .T84 P47 1981
Digital Silk Road
The Digital Silk Road is a research project on creating digital archives of cultural heritage through collaboration between informatics and humanities. Some of the projects sponsored by the DSR include:
Digital Archive of Toyo Bunko Rare Books A digital archives (image database) of basic references on Silk Road, including 100+ rare books, through the digitization of whole books from cover to cover.
Digital Maps of Old Beijing Study 250 years of change in Beijing revived with maps and photographs.
Silk Road Maps Navigate the Silk Road on historical maps and digital maps (including Google Earth).
Stein Placename Database Map of Innermost Asia and Index of Local Names made by Aurel Stein are here combined to recreate the index of placenames that takes advantage of the Web.
Database for Buddhist Cave Temples in China Provides comparison table for cave numbers across the literature as well as images and links to related content: Dunhuang Mogao Caves; Bezeklik Caves; Kizil Caves.
Silk Road Narratives Narratives of various themes to understand Silk Road a little deeper.
Photographs of Past and Present Visualize the historical change of places by taking present photographs from the same place and the same layout with old photographs.
Silk Road in Photographs Views of Khotan, Turfan, Changji, Jimsar, Hami, Dunhuang, Anxi, Jiuquan, Lanzhou, and Xi'an.
3D Digital Archives 3D virtual resconstruction projects for the Citadel of Bam, Iran, and the Bezeklik Caves, China.
Search Terms
Silk road
Silk Road -- Antiquities
Silk Road -- Antiquities -- Exhibitions
Silk Road -- Biography
Silk Road -- Description and travel
Silk Road -- History
Silk road -- History -- Sources -- Congresses
Silk Road -- Maps
Silk Road -- Pictorial works
China -- Description and travel
China, Northwest -- History
China -- Pictorial works
Xinjiang Uygur Zizhiqu (China) -- Pictorial works
Xinjiang Uygur Zizhiqu (China) -- Exhibitions
Gansu Sheng (China) -- Description and travel
Tadmur (Syria) -- Antiquities
Asia -- Civilization
Asia -- History
Asia -- Maps -- History
Asia, Central -- Antiquities
Asia, Central -- Antiquities -- Exhibitions
Asia, Central -- History
Asia, Central -- Religion
Bronze age -- Asia, Central
Bronze age -- Asia, Central -- Exhibitions
Cultural relations
Eurasia -- Commerce -- History
Silk industry -- Religious aspects
Silk industry -- Asia -- History
Silk industry -- Europe -- History
Trade routes -- China
Silk industry -- China -- History
Trade routes -- Asia -- History
Trade routes -- Eurasia -- History
Islam -- Silk Road -- History
Buddhism -- Silk Road -- History Art, Tantric-Buddhist -- Himalaya Mountains Region -- Exhibitions
Cartography -- Asia -- History
Asia -- Historical geography -- Maps
Dunhuang Caves (China) -- Antiquities
Dunhuang manuscripts
Dunhuang manuscripts -- Congresses
Dunhuang manuscripts -- History and criticism
Dunhuang Xian (Gansu Sheng, China)
Mural painting and decoration, Buddhist -- China -- Dunhuang Caves
Mural painting and decoration, Chinese -- China -- Dunhuang
Art, Buddhist -- China -- Dunhuang Caves
Buddhist mural painting and decoration -- China -- Dunhuang Xian
Art, Chinese -- China -- Dunhuang Xian (Gansu Sheng)
Art objects -- Asia, Central
Landscape painting, Chinese
Inscriptions -- Silk Road
Stein, Aurel, Sir, 1862-1943
Paul Pelliot 1878-1945
Research Databases
- JSTORComprised of the full-text of more than 1,000 academic journals covering a wide range of disciplines. JSTOR supports browsing by issue and full-text searching in individual journals or entire subject collections. JSTOR has recently released a new user interface which provides the ability to extract and view images from articles in a search result and to link to related images in ARTstor.
- Art Full TextIndexes and abstracts periodicals and includes full-text coverage for selected titles. Indexing coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in other languages. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage begins in 1997. Can search simultaneously w/Art Index Retro.
- Art Index RetrospectiveCumulates citations from the printed version of the Wilson Art Index, volumes 1-32 (1929-1984). The database cites articles from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins internationally in a range of languages; also indexes art reproductions and book reviews. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Full Text.
- Project MuseFull text to more than 400 scholarly peer reviewed journals by more than 100 publishers in the humanities and social sciences. Decent offerings in ART and ASIAN STUDIES. Some overlap with JSTOR.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
- Proquest NewstandFull text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Siku QuanshuA large collection of literary works compiled by edict of China's Emperor Qianlong during the period from 1773 - 1782 and translates to Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature.
NOTE: Use Internet Explorer; client software installation required. If you encounter difficulty accessing the database please uninstall any old client software and install the new English client (http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/setup.exe). Client installed on library computers. - Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest)provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of more than 1.25 million images representing the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences together with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline using ARTstor's free Offline Image Viewer (OIV).
To use ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a personal account within ARTstor on when working at a computer on campus.
Select Web Resources
- International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road OnlineIDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes. Partners include: British Library, National Library of China Beijing, Institute for Oriental Manuscripts, Guimet Museum, and many others.
- Silk Road SeattleAn ongoing public education project using the "Silk Road" theme to explore cultural interaction across Eurasia from the beginning of the Common Era (A. D.) to the Seventeenth Century. Provides digital materials for learning and teaching about the Silk Road. Sponsored by the University of Washington.
- Silk Road FoundationThe Silk Road Foundation (non-profit organization established in 1996) provides maps, article abstracts, photos, timelines, and other resources as well as links to information about the Silk Road, Inner Asia and Central Asia.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.
- David Rumsey Map Collection / Cartography AssociatesMore than 21,000 historical maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Select Museum Sites
- Saatchi GalleryArtist profiles from The Revolution Continues: NEW CHINESE ART (Oct 9th 2008 - Jan 18th 2009). Includes Zhang Dali, Wang Guangyi, Zhang Huan, Xiang Jing, Li Qing, Zhan Wang, Zhang Xiaogang, Sun Yuan and Peng Yu, Zhang Hongtu, among others.
