Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

Environmental Humanities: Archival Materials/Digital Libraries

Digital Libraries and Archival Material

Technically, a digital library is any aggregation of information resources in an electronic form. In practice however, the term "digital library' is used to indicate digitized one-of-a-kind archival material available online. 

The following links will lead you to local, regional, and national resources. 

What is Special Collections?

What could you find in Special Collections? Special Collections contain unique, rare, or regional resources. They often contain collections of personal papers, unpublished materials like correspondence and diaries, photographs, home movies, oral histories, and other material that is regionally relevant. Special Collections resources do not leave the library; they are frequently very valuable and could never be replaced if they go missing. 

Special Collections in Marriott Library is located on Level 4.

Departments in Special Collections:

Marriott Library's Digital Library  Also try out the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

A Finding Aid is a guide to the contents of a collection. It's sort of like of like the record for a book you would find in the library's catalog, but more in-depth. Sometimes it has links to the material it talks about (if the material has been digitized) but most often it does NOT. Take a look at this for an example: Norma W. Matheson papers

Collecting Focuses of Special Collections

Oral Histories

  • The Everett Cooley Oral History Collection: A collection of hundreds of oral histories related to Utah history, regional environmentalism, University of Utah history, and outdoor recreation in Utah. 
  • A full list of the oral history collections in Special Collections.
  • Home movie collections that prominently display national parks and outdoor recreation. A few finding aid links are below. Ask the Audio Visual Archives for more!
  • Unpublished material from individuals and institutions:
    • Chip Ward papers finding aid
      • Ward is the co-founder of West Desert HEAL, co-founder of Families Against Incinerator Risk (FAIR), co-founder of Citizens Against Chlorine Contamination, and co-founder of HEAL Utah and is currently on the advisory board.
    • Charles Butler and Alice Hunt papers finding aid
      • The Charles Butler and Alice Hunt papers (1857-1989) contain materials relating to archaeology and geology of Utah and surrounding areas. Included are correspondence, essays, articles, lectures, notebooks, publications, and other materials. Charles Butler Hunt was the co-founder of the Utah Geological Society, professor of geology at the Johns Hopkins University, the University of Utah, and New Mexico State University, director of the military geology unit of the USGS during World War II, and an author. Alice Hunt is an archaeologist and author.

    • Page Stegner Papers

      • The Page Stegner papers (1969-1996) consist of manuscript drafts, finished manuscripts, galleys, published essays, interviews, correspondence, and news articles. This collection also contains drafts through page proofs of Marking the Sparrow's Fall: Wallace Stegner's American West, with an introduction written by Page Stegner.

    • Wallace Stegner Papers

      • Wallace Earle Stegner (1909-1993), writer of novels, short stories, essays, and biographies was in addition a historian, a teacher, a speaker, and a respected advocate for the environment. He taught at the University of Utah, the University of Wisconsin, and Harvard University before heading to Stanford University, where he founded the Creative Writing Program in 1946. This collection of his papers contains personal and professional correspondence, journals, manuscript drafts for work both published and unpublished, research material, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and books containing letters of condolence compiled by Mary Stegner. 

Relevant Collections from the Marriott Digital Library

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library