Special Collections at the Marriott Library collects rare and unique materials relevant to regional people, places, and topics. Materials in Special Collections do not leave the Reading Room (4th floor, across from the Book Arts studio) but can be viewed by making an appointment or requesting digitization of individual items. Some materials have been digitized and are available in the Marriott Library Digital Library. The digital collections are a small subset of what is available in the millions of manuscript, photograph, moving image, print, and sound collections.
You can search for guides to Special Collections the library catalog or through ArchivesWest (make sure to limit your search to University of Utah Special Collections by using the facets on the left hand side of the search results).
If you need assistance, feel free to contact me or Rachel Ernst, Special Collections Reference Librarian. Amy Brunvand has also created an excellent guide to books, government sources, organizations, and journals in the general collection.
This tab is currently being updated with more materials.
This is a sample of collections available in Special Collections on the 4th Floor of Marriott Library. The hyperlinks lead to finding aids, or a guide to what is in the collection. Most of the collections are manuscript and research notes, correspondence, and other personal papers. Some of these may also have corresponding audiovisual or photograph collections. Learn more about Special Collections and contact the archivists, librarians, and curators in the department for a research consultation or appointment.
- Abbey, EdwardEnvironmentalism, nature writing
- Arrington, LeonardMormon history
- Bagley, WillEmigration, Mormon history, Mountain Meadows Massacre
- Bringhurst, NewellMormon history
- Brodie, FawnMormon history
- Brooks, JuanitaMountain Meadows Massacre
- Cannon, Ramona WilcoxMormon church, Journalism
- Goldberg, RobertSocial movements, Jewish farmers in Utah
- Kelly, CharlesMountain Meadows Massacre, Nature writing, American western history
- Madsen, BrighamBear River Massacre, Emigration, Native American history
- McCool, DanielEnvironmentalism, Native American history and policy
- McMurrin, SterlingMormon history
- Morgan, DaleWestern history, Mormon history, emigration
- Mortensen, A. RussellWestern history, Mormon history
- Mulder, WilliamMormon history, emigration
- Newell, Linda KingBiography, Mormon church
- Roberts, B.H.Mormon history, Mormon theology
- Stevenson, Russell
- Trimble, StephenEnvironmentalism, History of the National Parks
- Tyler, S. LymanNative American history
- Ward, ChipEnvironmentalism, Downwinders, Chemical dumping and incineration
- Wells, Emmeline B.Mormon church, Diaries, Poetry, Women's rights, Polygamy
- Marquardt, H. MichaelMormon history