Diversity and Inclusion
Diversity Language Style Guide
- The Diversity Style GuideThis media language guide includes terms and phrases related to race/ethnicity; religion; sexual orientation; gender identity; age and generation; drugs and alcohol; and physical, mental and cognitive disabilities.
Book Lists for Diversity-Related Subjects
- University of Denver - Diversity and Inclusion Book ListsThis page provides lists of books on a variety of diversity related topics. First click on the year, and then on the topic link to open up the full list of book titles.
Need help? Contact us
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Contains links to practical resources that provide information and strategies to assist with implementing diversity, equity, and inclusion directly into instruction and the classroom environment.
- Planning Effective Instruction byCall Number: Level 2: General Collection LB1027.4 .P75 2014ISBN: 9781133936732Publication Date: 2013-01-01PLANNING EFFECTIVE INSTRUCTION: DIVERSITY RESPONSIVE METHODS AND MANAGEMENT, Fifth Edition, fully equips readers to teach in ways that meet the needs of all students in today's diverse classroom. The four-part organization corresponds with a new framework for diversity responsive teaching that helps focus teachers' efforts in planning for diversity. Represented by a visual organizer, this framework helps readers see that what they teach, how they teach, and the context for teaching interact to bring about the success of all students. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
- Mastropieri byCall Number: Level 2: General Collection LC1201 .M37 2014ISBN: 9780132659857Publication Date: 2013-01-14Note: This is the loose-leaf version of The Inclusive Classroom and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with the loose-leaf version, use ISBN 0133386309. The Inclusive Classroom: Strategies for Effective Differentiated Instruction, 5/e captures the best of inclusion practices using a non-categorical approach. With three balanced parts, these award-winning authors explain the fundamentals of inclusive teaching, the most effective general teaching practices, and ways to differentiate instruction for specific content areas. Targeted teaching strategies show ways to improve all students' memory, attention, motivation, and peer interaction. Research highlights validate strategies and prove why these techniques are best practice. Filled with classroom-ready tips and checklists, this revision includes a new chapter on RTI, more on secondary inclusion, and the latest strategies relating to academic success. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad#65533; and Android#65533; tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Association of American Colleges & Universities
- High-Impact Educational PracticesAAC&U list describing a variety of high-impact educational practices.
- High-Impact Practices PublicationsAAC&U literature on high-impact practices found to increase rates of student retention and student engagement.
- Liberal Education 2017 - Creating Inclusive Classrooms: Perspectives from Faculty DevelopmentThis issue explores the role of faculty development in creating educational spaces that welcome students of all identities and encourage dialogue across perspectives.
Other Teaching Resources
- Inclusive Teaching by DisciplineThis Michigan State University site contains links to research and resources on inclusive teaching by specific discipline. Click menu options along left side to access resources.
- TILE - Toolkit for Inclusive LearningTILE is a resource created to spark conversation and share best practices for fostering diversity and inclusion in Johns Hopkins classrooms.
- Illinois Association for Cultural DiversityWestern Illinois University’s Expanding Cultural Diversity Project. The resources here are the result of an in-depth search for cultural diversity and social justice resources that have proven to be especially valuable to educators.
- UCLA "KNOW" Inclusion StrategiesInclusion strategies from the UCLA Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.
- Inclusive Teaching Resources and StrategiesUniversity of Michigan's Center for Research on Learning and Teaching resources a range of online resources and specific strategies for practicing inclusive teaching.
- Inclusive Teaching Strategy: Reflecting on Your PracticeUniversity of Michigan's checklist assists instructors in assessing how well they are addressing issues of content, instructional practice, and classroom interactions.