LabArchives: Policies

Disciplinary Metadata from the DCC

RDA Metadata Directory

UU Research Handbook Chapter 9

A Best Practices Primer from DataOne

List of Best Practices from DataOne

Research Data: includes laboratory notebooks, as well as any other records that are necessary for the reconstruction and evaluation of reported results of research and the events and processes leading to those results, regardless of the form or the media on which they may be recorded.

By making sure all the above documentation is in LabArchives, all your documentation is in one place for easy access. In addition, a data dictionary/codebook should be developed to facilitate communication among the research group members and between research groups that are collaborating. A data dictionary describes each element/variable related to your datasets, e.g. descriptive name, the data type, allowed values, units, and text description. Disciplines have or are now developing standardized terminology and metadata schemas for describing their research.

Metadata: Think of how books are cataloged by librarians: a two-column spreadsheet with a generalized list of elements (author, title, publisher, height of items, etc) to which descriptors are supplied. The descriptors provided can be from a standardized vocabulary. The website Disciplinary Metadata and the RDA Metadata Directory provides standardized metadata for a number of disciplines. Check them out and if you do not find anything suitable ask colleagues what they are using. If nothing is available, then you can also develop your own temporary and standardized vocabulary for your research group and make sure everyone uses it.

One of LabArchives' features is tagging. By entering your standardized metadata into the tag field your research group will all have access to the same vocabulary.

Archived for a minimum of 3 years after final project closeout
Exceptions - Patents, commercialization, funder requirements, student involved in research, allegations of misconduct"

With LabArchives nothing is ever deleted as long as the account is open. All your data will remain in LabArchives until three years after the account is closed.

Research records must be retained on the University of Utah campus, or in facilities leased or maintained by the University of Utah unless the Vice President for Research or the Director of OSP grants specific permission to do otherwise.

Employees and students may leave with a copy of the research, but the original will remain on campus in LabArchives.

If leaving the University you may take copies, but the original remains with the University.

The PI may leave the University with a copy of the research, but the original will remain on campus within LabArchives unless special permission is granted by the Vice President for Research.

The PI is responsible for

• The collection, management, maintenance, and retention of research data
• Determining what records need to be retained to comply with Sponsor requirements
• Adopting an orderly system of data organization
• Communicating the chosen system to all members of a research group
• Establishing and maintaining procedures for protection of essential records in the event of a natural disaster or other emergency.

By using LabArchives appropriately the PI will be in compliance with this policy. The use of LabArchives can be included in the Data Management Plans submitted with grant proposals.