Architecture
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized online and print resources for their study of topics within Architecture and design projects.
Feature: Detail Magazine
The Marriott Library subscribes to DETAIL.
- The subscription began with vol. 42, issue no. 1, January 2002 and is current. Each volume (year) consists of 12 issues.
- Current issues are shelved in the Fine Arts & Architecture Library, 2nd LVL. They are available for 7-day check-out.
- Back issues are housed in the ARC (Automated Retrieval Center) and can be requested from the library catalog -- click on the "Locations & Request" tab to see all holdings.
If you are looking for something in particular (a building, a designer, a topic, etc.) then, you might find searching the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database (link), which indexes DETAIL.
In Avery, you can search all the sources indexed or you can limit your search to only DETAIL. To do this you'll need to begin with the Advanced Search interface; enter your search term(s); and then in one of the search boxes enter detail and search the field publication type -- alternatively, you can enter the following command search in the search box: PUB(detail).
Databases Focusing on Architecture
The following databases index, abstract, and in some cases provide full text access to periodical literature on architecture and related fields of study.
- Avery Index to Architectual PeriodicalsJournal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals.
- Art Full Text(1984-present; Full-text 1997-present) is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world in virtually all areas of art, architecture, and archaeology. Additional full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
- Art Index RetrospectiveIn-depth record of contemporary art and architecture history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism. Users can research English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowCurrent Artstor platform expected retirement of the site/URL at the end of July 2024. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform.
To log into ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a (free) account within ARTstor while on campus.The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding our areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
News / Current Events & Historical
- ProQuest NewsstandFull text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
- New York Times Historical NewspaperFully searchable text of the Times from 1851-2006. Find words anywhere in the text, including short items--like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads-- which have never before been indexed. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page.
- Utah Digital NewspapersThis project digitizes a variety of local Utah newspapers from the late 18th to early 20th centuries. They are fully searchable and are presented as they appeared at the time.
Databases Focusing on Engineering / Buliding Science
If you are looking for engineering-related information, we recommend these databases:
- EiVillage/Engineering Village 2Excellent resource for civil, mechanical, and structural engineers. Access to Compendex, Inspec, NTIS, CRCENGnetBASE, USPTO, Esp@cenet, and Scirus web search available through this interface.
- Engineered Materials AbstractsIndexes the world's literature on polymers, ceramics and composites: their properties, applications and manufacturing. Citations from over 1500 journals, conferences, technical reports and dissertations.
- ScitopiaScitopia.org, the free federated search portal to the digital libraries of leading science and technology societies. Enter a term to find targeted, authoritative, timely research now. Scitopia.org is a product of collaboration of leading science and technology societies inc: Acoustical Society of America, American Geophysical Union; American Physical Society; American Society of Civil Engineers; and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- ScopusUpdated daily, Scopus offers. Over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records, Results from 431 million scientific web pages, 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices, "Articles-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals, Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.
Databases for Cross-Disciplinary Searching
The following databases index, abstract, and sometimes provide full text access to literature in a vareity of acaedmic disciplines -- including architecture and design.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of all journals in all JSTOR collections, including those that cover the subjects of economics, geography, health policy, population studies, public policy & administration, and transportation studies.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full TextDigital Dissertations provides full text access to virtually all North American Universities Dissertations published from 1997 and forward, and citations only to dissertations before that date. Dissertations are large files, so before downloading be sure your storage medium has space.
- Adam Matthew Primary Source Collections This link opens in a new windowAdam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)NOTE: To access this database, you must come to the Marriott Library and use one of the library computers OR consult the Fine Arts & Architecture librarian for a password. Provides access to the world's leading scholarly literature in the social sciences, including journals, conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Citation searching enables following the past and future research of a published article.
