Aileen H. Clyde 20th Century Women's Legacy Archive: Start Here
Accessing and Using Collections
The Clyde Archive consists of numerous individual collections that all together form the archive. Most of the collections will NOT be available online and will be accessible only in-person at the J. Willard Marriott Library Special Collections. All materials held in Special Collections are open to the public.
Please review policies and procedures for accessing collection via Special Collection's website.
LINKS
- Archives WestArchives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources at the University of Utah.
- Mountain West Digital LibraryA central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region.
- Utah Digital NewspapersUtah’s only keyword-searchable statewide digital newspaper repository
- Woman's ExponentSalt Lake City-based newspaper that was published from 1872 to 1914 and covered topics germane to Latter-day Saint women, ranging from domestic affairs and church-related events to national topics such as slavery and the suffrage movement.
- Women Legislators of Utah, 1896-1993Book, compiled by Delila M. Abbott and Beverly J. White, containing brief sketches of women who have served in the Utah Legislature since statehood and listed along with that their accomplishments in other fields.
About the Archive and Aileen Clyde
In recognition of the complexity and change experienced by 20th century women in Utah and elsewhere, the mission of the Aileen H. Clyde 20th Century Women's Legacy Archive is to document and preserve the history of women whose lives and work helped create social and cultural change.
Objectives
- To collect and preserve life history interviews of women who represent social and cultural change
- To create a collective account of women's 20th century history that reflects the diversity of women and represents the efforts of women of all religious, ethnic, and racial groups and across all geographic areas
- To work with the University of Utah's J. Willard Marriott Library archivists to identify and acquire the personal papers and collections of women
- To support opportunities for scholarship and writing about the activities of women in the 20th century in the form of scholarly grants and special events
Aileen Clyde graduated with high honors from Brigham Young University and taught English there for ten years. At the invitation of the Utah Judicial Council, Aileen chaired the Utah Task Force on Gender and Justice. She was awarded the Amicus Curiae (Friend of the Courts) Award by the Utah Judicial Conference for uncommon commitment to the Judiciary's goal of equal justice for all. The American Judicature Society awarded Aileen the Herbert Harley distinction for the promotion of the effective administration of justice. She served twelve years on the Utah State Board of Regents and also served on the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education. From 1990 to 1997 she served in the General Presidency of the Relief Society of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Aileen is the past chair of the Coalition for Utah's Future and is special advisor to Envision Utah. She was a member of several nonprofit board of directors as well as the Board of Trustees of the University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics. Amongst all of this, Aileen worked as a certified construction flag person where she learned about a different world of work and was surprised by the uproar her unconventional employment evoked in friendly observers. She and her late husband, Hal M. Clyde, have three married sons, six granddaughters and five grandsons and eleven great-grandchildren.
Subject Guide
