Aileen H. Clyde 20th Century Women's Legacy Archive: People, Ethnicity, Culture
Collection subjects include:
"£ 200 Reward" broadsheet
The "£ 200 Reward" broadsheet advertises a reward for "each and every case of girls being sent to Utah as white slaves or for the purpose of becoming polygamous wives." The verso promotes the state of Utah and the people.
Shauna McLatchy Adix
Professor at the University of Utah, the first director of the Women's Resource Center (1971-1989), and an activist in women's issues.
Grace Tanner Anderson
Ella Mae Donohoo Bills
Bills was born about 1891. She married David L. Bills in July 1919. Her parents were married in December 1884 in Virgin, Utah.
Maria Elena Cellino
The Maria Elena Cellino story and screenplay research materials deals with the production titled, "U.S. on Trial." The bound materials present endoresements, press and commited cast. Produced by Inner Circle Productions Corporation, the story is about the internment of Japanese Americans within the United States during World War II.
Josephine Streeper Chase
Chase was born in 1835 and died in 1894. She was married to George Ogden Chase and lived in Centerville, Utah.
Eva Williams Darger
Hadassah, Utah Chapter
Jewish women's organization.
Emma Kofler Helwing
Helwing was born 23 April 1893 in the village of Ladyczyn, Austria-Hungary. She married Edmund Helwing on 1 February 1920 in Vienna. The abuse of Nazism forced them to move to Shanghai. In 1940, they moved to the United States, settling in Utah. Emma worked for the Red Cross and the Community Chest, and volunteered for various polio, heart, and cancer drives. She and Sigmund received their citizenship papers on 7 March 1946.
Hired as a teacher's aide at the first Head Start Center in Salt Lake City and eventually became the parent coordinator. She left that job in 1972 to become a minority consultant for the Salt Lake County School District. She retired from that position in 1986. She received an honorary doctorate from the University of Utah in 1971, and a B.S. in Elementary Education in 1980 (at the age of 59). Henry was also the President of the Salt Lake City NAACP for twelve years, from 1980 to 1992. She has also been involved in numerous community and government organizations, including the Altrusa Club, Utah Commission on Civil Rights, and the Governor's Black Advisory Council.
- Alberta Henry papers finding aid
- Alberta Henry photograph collection finding aid
- Digitized photographs
- Oral history transcript 1; Oral history transcript 2
International Women’s Year
Under the auspices of the United Nations, 1975 was proclaimed "International Women's Year." A world conference was held from June 23 to July 4 of that year in Mexico City. Utah's first Coordinating Committee meeting was held in Salt Lake City in February 1977.
- International Women's Year records finding aid
- International Women's Year audio recordings finding aid
Speaking out as a Mormon for Equal Rights Amendments in 1977, promoting the amendment and denouncing what she perceived to be her church’s political activities against the amendment. She continued giving speeches, leading to her excommunication from the LDS church in December 1979. She continued to promote the ERA, feminist issues, and women’s rights.
- Sonia Johnson papers finding aid
- Sonia Johnson photograph collection finding aid
- Sonia Johnson audio-visual collection finding aid
- Sonia Johnson oral history transcript
- Digitized photographs
Born in Washington to immigrant parents. She married Henry Yoshihiko Kasai in 1937. Henry was detained by the FBI after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and remained in custody for two and a half years. During this time, Alice became an activist, participating in the Japanese-American Citizens’ League and providing support for families interned in relocation camps. After the war she continued her work in activism on behalf of civil rights, women’s rights, ethnic issues, and welfare of the aging until her death in 2007.
- Alice Kasai papers finding aid
- Alice Kasai photograph collection finding aid
- Oral history transcript
- Digitized photographs
Reba Lou Keele
Keele taught Organizational Behavior at Brigham Young University from 1978 to 1991 and became the Dean of Undergraduate Education at the University of Utah from 1991 to 1996, where she has also taught Management. She has published on topics regarding women, gender, and leadership.
Served as vice-chair of both the Excecutive Board and Task Force for the International Women's Year organization. She was also president of the Equal Rights Coalition of Utah and a member of various other women's groups.
Founded the Phoenix Institute which assists women and displaced homemakers to reach their full potential.
Landa is a Utah women's rights activist who is also active in various Jewish organizations and in the antinuclear movement. Her many titles include: President of the National Council of Jewish Women, Vice Chairman of the Utah State Board of Education, Co-founder of Project Head Start in Utah, Director of Women's programs in the Division of Continuing Education at the University of Utah, and leader in Utah's International Women's Year Conference in 1977.
- Esther Landa photograph collection finding aid
- Interview transcript 1
- Interview transcript 2
- Interview transcript 3
Naomi Barlow Larson
June K. Lyman
She taught school in Sykeston for five years prior to being hired as a teacher by the Bureau of Indian Affairs in 1938, where she met her future husband, Stanley Lyman.The Lymans worked for the BIA for more than twenty years, including stints at Fort Duchesne, Utah, and Fort Peck, Montana. Stanley was superintendent of the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota in 1973, when American Indian Movement militants occupied portions of the reservation at Wounded Knee. After Stanley's death in 1979, June was instrumental in getting the eyewitness account of the occupation published as "Wounded Knee 1973."
Dorothy Smith MacFarlane
MacFarlane earned her bachelor's degree at Utah State University and attended graduate school at the University of California at Berkeley. She married Dr. L. Wayland MacFarlane in 1940 and together they had two daughters. A highly respected teacher, she was active in her community and was a member of organizations such as the Utah State Medical Auxiliary and Chapter V of the P.E.O. Sisterhood.
Betty M. Madsen
Madsen is a graduate of the University of Utah with degrees in French and linguistics. She was the co-author of several publications with her husband, Brigham D. Madsen and served as thesis editor at the University of Utah in the 1970s.
Lorille Horne Miller
Miller was involved in political campaigns and the Unitarian Church. She co-wrote and published The Unitarian Church in Utah, 1891-1991, and fought to have the ERA ratified in Utah.
James Warren “Flaming Eagle” Mooney and his wife Linda Taylor “Bright Hawk” Mooney found Oklevueha EarthWalks Native American Church of Utah, Inc. They were arrested and charged with felony drug counts related to supplying peyote to persons with little to no Native American ancestry who had been participating in the religious ritual. The Mooneys fought back, saying that restricting religious freedom on the basis of race was unconstitutional.
Mary Preston Moyle
- Oscar W. and Mary Preston Moyle papers finding aid
- Oscar W. and Mary Preston Moyle photograph collection finding aid
Ina Mae Murri
She enlisted in the Air Force in 1955, and was discharged in 1956. After her discharge, she moved to Los Angeles to live with her mother. In 1960 she married James Sanders, and the two had a son, Eric Sanders, one year later. They divorced in 1967, and later Ina became active in LGBTQ+ groups in California such as Affirmation for Gay and Lesbian Mormons and Mormons for ERA. She was active for the rest of her life in feminist and LGBTQ+ groups, and accumulated correspondents and friends world-wide. In 1980 she met Stella Lopez-Armijo, the woman who became her life-long partner. Together they founded the group Lavender Seniors.
Created in 1978 as an intelligent magazine that would address women’s issues and appeal to women in Utah. The Magazine’s goal was to help provide information and successful examples of women balancing their lives to working women in Utah. Network was an important turning point for the progress of women in Utah, as this was one of the few successful regional magazines in the 1970s.
Chieko N. Okazaki
First woman of color to serve as a Relief Society General Presidency member (first counselor) and the first woman to serve on all three of the women's general boards of the LDS church. In 1990, Chieko began her public speaking and authorial career which focused on LDS women's issues, and she is one of the first major LDS figures to directly address sexual abuse.
Helen Zeese Papanikolas
Papanikolas (1917-2004) was born in Carbon County, Utah, to Greek immigrant parents George and Emily Zeese (Yiorgis and Emilia Zisimopoulos). The family moved to Salt Lake City in 1933. She received a B.A. from the University of Utah in 1939 and was awarded an honorary doctorate from that institution in 1984. She was an accomplished belletrist who wove ethnographic themes from her experience as a Greek-American into memoir, fiction, and poetry.
Charlotte A. Quinn
Collection of research notes concerning the modern resurgence of Islam in Africa. It includes newspaper and magazine articles, brochures, and other various published materials all relating to Islam as a religion as well as a cultural force. The research was used for Charlotte Quinn's book, Pride, Faith and Fear: Islam in the Sub-Saharan Africa, and her collaboration with Frederick Quinn, Mandingo Kingdoms of the Senegambia: Traditionalism, Islam, and European Expansion.
Edith Leroy Richardson
Granddaughter of Chief Tintic of the Uintah Utes. She grew up on the Indian reservation in Springville, Utah. She worked as a private nurse in hospitals throughout the western United States. She was also a member of the Business and Professional Women’s Club for twenty-five years.
Schreiner autobiography is entitled "Margaret Schreiner Reminisces" and was compiled by Richard L. Schreiner, John C. Schreiner, Gretchen S. Jackson and Julianne S. Johnson. The autobiography presents snippets of her life, her memories of family members, and sage advise to be passed down to other generations.
Alice Sheets Marriott
Alice Sheets Marriott (1907-2000) married J. Willard Marriott in the Salt Lake Temple and moved to Washington, D.C. to help with the A & W root beer stand. In the fall of 1927 the stand was transformed into The Hot Shoppe, with Mrs. Marriott as the chef. She was instrumental in key decision-making which affected the company's growth and success, and even helped design and decorate company restaurants and hotels and scouted out new locations for company expansion. In 1989 the new dance building was dedicated as the Alice Sheets Marriott Center for Dance in recognition of her particular interest in the arts.
Anne M. Smith
In 1936 and 1937, as part of her studies, she traveled to the Intermountain West where she conducted interviews with the elder members of local Native American Tribes, the Ute of the Uinta and Ouray Reservation in particular.
Alma Garth Sorenson
Sorenson grew up in Aurora, Utah. She attended both Snow College and the University of Utah. She served in the United States Army and was a professor at the University of Utah.
Sandra C. Taylor
Researcher of Vietnam and the Vietnam War, and photocopies of documents produced by the War Relocation Authority Board relative to the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II. There is also material primarily relating to the conflict in Indochina, and its repercussions in American society.
Utah women's issues
The Utah women's issues collection (1963-1992) contains a collection of papers documenting major issues for women in Utah. Included are materials about the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) and the political activities of Mormons for and against the ERA. There are documents and materials from Utah Divisions of Women's Organizations including the American Association of University Women, the International Women's Year, and the International Federation of University Women. Also included are documents and materials about Utah women's involvement in the arts, education, government, and the workplace.
Women's Resource Center
The Women's Resource Center at the University of Utah serves as the central resource for educational and support services for women. Honoring the complexities of women's identities, the WRC facilitates choices and changes through programs, counseling, and training grounded in a commitment to advance social justice and equality.
Jo-Ann Wong is an influential community member, involved primarily in the arts by serving on the board of the Utah Asian Festival. Wong also is involved with political matters, specifically regarding democratic personnel; community matters, such as Millcreek incorporation; Sundance; Utah Education Association; United Nations Association of Utah; and more.