Aileen H. Clyde 20th Century Women's Legacy Archive: Education
Collection subjects include:
Alpha Lambda Delta
Alpha Lambda Delta is an honor society for freshmen women. Although it is a national organization, this particular collection pertains to the chapter at the University of Utah.
American Association of University Women
Organization whose membership is composed of women with baccalaureate degrees who are committed to continuing their education informally through study groups and to providing scholarships for women who desire to obtain advanced degrees.
- American Association of University Women records finding aid
- American Association of University Women photograph collection finding aid
Maud May Babcock
Chaplain of the Utah State Senate (potentially the first women in the country to hold such a position, founder and president of the University of Utah Speech Department, Trustee of the Utah School for the Deaf and Blind. Very involved with theater, speech, and elocution at the University of Utah.
- Maud May Babcock papers finding aid
- Maud May Babcock photograph collection finding aid
- Digitized photographs
Chi Delta Phi
In the fall of 1908, a group of University of Utah women organized The Order of the Gleam, a women's literary club. In 1921 the club became the Gleam Epsilon chapter of Chi Delta Phi, a national honorary literary sorority that had been organized in Georgia in 1919. The Gleam Epsilon chapter functioned on the campus until 1951 when it disbanded; but even after the chapter's dissolution the alumnae remained an active group.
Chi Omega Alumnae Association of Salt Lake City
Founded in 1895 at the University of Arkansas, Chi Omega is the largest women's fraternal organization in the world with over 400,000 initiates, 181 collegiate chapters, and over 240 alumnae chapters.
CWEAN
CWEAN, founded at the University of Utah in 1937, was a service organization honoring junior women succeeding in academics and activities. Its twenty-five members served as hostesses for campus events and sponsored the Campus Courtesy Committee.
Consortium for Utah Women in Higher Education
Founded in 1972 by women from all of Utah's institutions of higher education who gathered to discuss salary equity issues. The organization continues to discuss salary equity, but has also become a network of support to women working in institutions of higher education.
Anne Marie Fox Felt
Felt spent her life working as a kindergarten and primary teacher in SLC. She served as president of the National Association of Childhood Education and founder of the Kiwanis Felt Center.
- Anne Marie Fox Felt papers finding aid
- Anne Marie Fox Felt photograph collection finding aid
- Digitized photographs
Cecelia H. Foxley
Served as the Deputy Commissioner and Associate Commissioner for Academic Affairs. She then served as Commissioner of the Utah System of Higher Education and Chief Executive Officer to the State Board of Regents for over 10 years. Afterward she served for three years as Regents professor in the Educational Psychology department at the University of Utah.
- Cecelia H. Foxley papers finding aid
- Cecelia H. Foxley photograph collection finding aid
- Books by Foxley
Hope A. Hilton
Writer and community activist who organized the Middle East Foundation, a charitable organization devoted to helping students from the Middle East obtain an education in the United States.
Maurine McKellar
McKellar (1926-2015) was a Granite High School alumni and a prominent member of the First Baptist Church.
Jerilyn S. McIntyre
Served as Associate Dean of the College of Humanities, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Vice President for Academic Affairs, and briefly as interim President at the University of Utah.
- Jerilyn S. McIntyre papers finding aid
- Jerilyn S. McIntyre interview transcript
- University of Utah Vice President for Academic Affairs records finding aid
- Books by McIntyre
Maxine Olive Ward McIntyre
Gifted teacher and mother. She began her teaching career after graduating high school at age 15 and later reared two children, Joel and Jerilyn. She was commemorated by the National Women's History Museum for being a pioneer in teaching.
Susan Miller
Miller was a professor emerita at the University of Utah, in Salt Lake City, Utah. She was a nationally renowned scholar and author. She published many books and essays on composition pedagogy and rhetorical theory.
- Susan Miller papers finding aid
- University of Utah University Writing Program records finding aid
- Books by Miller
Neighborhood House
Originally organized in 1894 as a free kindergarten for underprivileged children in the Salt Lake area, the Neighborhood House gradually expanded to offer a variety of services for the entire community.
Eleanor L. Nicholes
Nicholes received a B.A. in English Literature from Brigham Young University, and taught in Utah public schools. She continued to teach and study library science, and worked as a rare books librarian in New York. She returned to Utah in 1986 and served on the board of the Friends of the University of Utah Library and was active in the American Association of University Women.
- Eleanor L. Nicholes papers finding aid
- Eleanor L. Nicholes photograph collection finding aid
- Book by Nicholes
University of Utah Alpha Lambda Delta Chapter
Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honorary society for freshman women founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois. The University of Utah chapter was established in 1933.
University of Utah Chi Delta Phi. Gleam Epsilon Chapter
In the fall of 1908, a group of University of Utah women organized The Order of the Gleam, a women's literary club. In 1921 the club became the Gleam Epsilon chapter of Chi Delta Phi, a national honorary literary sorority that had been organized in Georgia in 1919. The Gleam Epsilon chapter functioned on the campus until 1951 when it disbanded; but even after the chapter's dissolution the alumnae remained an active group.
University of Utah Division of Continuing Education Women's Programs
Prior to 1971, Women's Programs in the Division of Continuing Education offered non-credit courses for women. In 1971 the Women's Resource Center was established to provide programs, classes, counseling, advising, and general advocacy for women.
University of Utah Faculty Women's Club
The University of Utah Faculty Women's Club was first organized in 1926-1927. The goal of the Club was to support women faculty in their struggle for better working conditions and status at the University of Utah, as well as for social functions.
University of Utah Mothers' Club
In 1930, "The All Fraternity Mothers' Club" was formed to help alleviate problems associated with hazing. In 1931 the club was expanded to include the mothers of all University students. It is engaged in social and fund raising activities as well as in service projects for students, the University, and the community.
University of Utah Phi Chi Theta Chapter
The campus chapter of Phi Chi Theta was organized at the University of Utah in 1925. The Alumnae chapter was organized in 1929. The purpose of Phi Chi Theta is to promote the cause of higher education and business training for all women.
University of Utah Spurs Chapter
The Spurs, a national service organization for sophomore women, was founded at Montana State College in 1922. The University of Utah Chapter was founded in 1926 "to stimulate finer spirit at student activities." The organization was active on campus until the early 1970s.
University of Utah Women's Club
The University of Utah Women's Club was organized in 1909, as the Women of the University of Utah, with meetings initially held in the home of Mrs. Joseph T Kingsbury, the wife of the University President. Membership included faculty wives and women teachers. Its purpose is to promote sociability among members and create interest in university activities and campus life generally.
University of Utah Women's Resource Center
The Women's Resource Center at the University of Utah serves as the central resource for educational and support services for women. Honoring the complexities of women's identities, the WRC facilitates choices and changes through programs, counseling, and training grounded in a commitment to advance social justice and equality.
- University of Utah Women's Resource Center, 1962-1991 records finding aid
- University of Utah Women's Resource Center records, 1971-1984 finding aid
- University of Utah Women's Resource Center reference collection finding aid
Active in national and Utah organizations dealing with education, youth, health, and women's rights. She serves as president of the P.T.A. and was honored for her work with the Y.W.C.A., the legislative council and other community services.
Lucy May Van Cott
First Dean of women at the University of Utah, serving for 24 years. She sponsored programs to help needy students and raised money for a girls’ dormitory, and served as a mentor to many students.
