Aileen H. Clyde 20th Century Women's Legacy Archive: Recreation
Collection subjects include:
Ruth Lotte Rogers-Altmann (1917- ) was one of the leading ski and sports clothing designers in America.
Bonnie Speyer Carluccio
Ski racer and professional ski Instructor at Alta Ski Resort.
- Bonnie Speyer Carluccio papers finding aid
- Bonnie Speyer Carluccio photograph collection finding aid
Heward has been in a wheelchair since she was 16-months old when a 100-pound barbell fell on her, pinching her spine and paralyzing her below the waist. Lacey Heward began skiing at age 15 when she got bored sitting in the lodge watcging her family have fun skiing and snowboarding and decided to learn to ski. In 1999 she entered the National Ability Center's program in Park City to learn about mono-ski racing.
Fern Perkins Hyde
Fern was an avid participant in Utah’s early ski community and in Utah’s ski culture, teaching her children to ski at young ages. The family were frequent visitors to ski resorts at Snowbasin, Park City, and Nordic Valley.
Korfata (b. 1945) began ski racing competitively in the fourth grade, and continued racing throughout junior high and high school. She received a B.S. in biological sciences from the University of Utah, where she was coached by Marvin Melville. She was selected for the 1968 Women's Alpine Olympic Ski Team, but was sidelined by an injury shortly before the games. After retiring from competition in the early 1970s, she worked at various ski areas before becoming the race manager at Park City Ski Area in the mid-1980s.
- Karen Korfanta papers finding aid
- Karen Korfanta photograph collection finding aid
- Digitized photographs
Katie was born October 23, 1919, in Tucson, Arizona. Lee is a folk singer, writer, actress, photographer and environmental activist.
Margo Walters McDonald
Walters was born in 1942 to Earl and Melba Walters. She attended Jordan High school and the University of Utah. Margo first donned skis in 1951 in Bear Gulch, Idaho -- a fateful event that ultimately led to a first place finish in the Junior Nationals, a second place finish in the Senior Nationals, three Snow Cup victories (1960, 1961 and 1963), and a 21st place finish in the downhill in the 1964 Olympic Winter Games in Innsbruck, Austria, where she was a member of the U.S. Olympic Team. She served as executive director of the Intermountain Ski Association from 1967 to 1970 and was inducted into the Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame is 2007.
Amy Toda Meeker
Meeker was a former student and ski racer for the University of Utah.
Karen Huntoon Miller
She was downhill racer until she was thirteen and then began to compete in freestyle skiing events. In 1974, she won the Woman's World Champion for moguls and continued competing and placing in numerous ski competitions. Huntoon also won the Colgate World Trophy Women's Freestyle Ski Championships.
Mountain Dell Ladies Golf Association
The purpose of the Mountain Dell Ladies Golf Association is to foster and sponsor women's golf activities at the Mt. Dell Golf Course in accordance with the procedures and rules of the U. S. Golf Association, the Women's Conduct of Golf, and the Utah State Women's Golf Association, unless modified by the local course rules.
Greta Paulsen-O'Brien (b. 1958) was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, and began skiing at the age of five. In addition to competing professionally, Greta has been an action model and ski competition judge.
Suzy Harris Rytting
Utah based professional skier, and gained national recognition as a first alternative for the 1948 United States Olympic Ski team. She was asked to represent the United States at other national ski competitions the following years. In 1952 she was in Oslo to participate in the Olympics on the United States alpine team but was asked to relinquish her position on the team when she discovered she was pregnant.
- Suzy Harris Rytting papers finding aid
- Suzy Harris Rytting photograph collection finding aid
- Suzy Harris Rytting audio-visual ski collection
Saubert was a member of the U.S. Olympic/World Championship ski teams in 1962, 1964, and 1966. She won silver and bronze medals in the 1964 Innsbruck Winter Olympics. She later taught in elementary schools in Colorado, Utah, and Oregon, and was a physical education instructor at Brigham Young University.
Liz Sherry was a member of the University of Utah Ski Team from 1999 to 2001.
University of Utah gymnastics
The University of Utah gymnastics team has competed since 1976 and has since qualified for 32 NCAA Championship. The team holds the longest regular season home win streak of any NCAA sport that spans 23 years. The Utes gymnastics team has titles both regionally and nationally with one of the highest audience attendance rates in college gymnastics.
- University of Utah gymnastics collection finding aid
- Digitized photographs
- Media guides and periodicals catalog records
Women's Ski Jumping USA
WSJ-USA is a non-profit organization incorporated in 2003 in Park City, Utah. It was created to support the rising number of elite U.S. women ski jumpers who needed financial support and strong leadership to get them into the international fold and on sport's biggest stage, the Olympic Games. For 10 years, female ski jumpers were continually denied inclusion in the Games despite pushing their sport through the system and greatly increasing participation.
Ski instructor in Salt Lake City. Involved in the United States Ski Association, she served as the executive director of the Intermountain Division in 1973. She played an integral role in the Utah Ski Archives.