Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse at the Dumke Library
Film & Media Magazines
For film- and media-related magazines and journals, search for the Subject Keyword phrase: "motion pictures" AND periodicals.
You can further refine the results by choosing from the list of "Subjects" in the right-hand column (click on "More" to display all Subject options).
Current issues of many of these publications are available for browsing and check-out at the Dumke Fine Arts & Architecture Library at Marriott Library.
Search for Articles in Film Databases
Film and Television Literature Index
Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. In addition, it includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Complete Index to World Film since 1895
Contains information on over 474,000 films produced around the world since 1888, with over half a million references to books and journals.
Classic Mexican Cinema
Popular movie periodicals from the Golden Age of Mexican Cinema (1902-1965), including Cinema Reporter, Cine Mundial, El Cine Gráfico, the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado, dozens of film flyers, the personal scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes.
Search for Film-related Articles in Humanities Databases
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
US and UK film, music, broadcasting, theater, fan magazines, and music press magazines covering the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Communication & Mass Media
Covers publishing related to communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study, including cinema and media studies. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles.
MLA International Bibliography
This is the quintessential index for articles, books, bibliographies and conference proceedings pertaining to language and literature, including plays. Coverage: 1926-present.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD)
Journal, magazine, and reference book articles addressing the history of theater in societies around the world; theory of theater movements and genres; and analysis of productions, companies, and individuals.
Full-text and images of the back runs (most recent 3-5 year not available) of selective, interdisciplinary scholarly journals, including Literature journals and Performing Arts journals.
Full text coverage of more than 150 journals published by university presses, with a collection specifically geared toward film, theater, and the performing arts. Coverage: 1993-present.
Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that offers journal & magazines articles on a range of subjects including film and media studies, computer animation, cultural studies, design, technology, theater, music, and more!
Dissertations & Theses: Global
Provides full-text access to virtually all North American universities' dissertations published from 1997 to the present, and a mix of some full-text and some citations-only entries before that date.
Film Libraries & Archives
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences: Margaret Herrick Library
Scripts, photos, books, graphic arts, oral histories, periodicals (magazines & journals), biographies, and ephemera. Some available in the online Digital Collections
, others available only at their Beverly Hills location.
Women Film Pioneers Project
Features silent-era producers, directors, co-directors, scenario writers, scenario editors, camera operators, title writers, editors, costume designers, and exhibitors, not just actresses!
Media History Digital Library
More than 180 digitized collections of classic media periodicals (from early- to mid-20th century) covering film, radio, and television primarily, with a bit of theater and music.
Open Source Film Journals & Datasets
Tool for measuring length and number of film shots, plus a database of films already measured.
"Social Graphs to Visualize Movie Character Relationships"
16:9: a Danish Journal of Film Studies
Each issue features an article in English by a renowned film scholar.
Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media (Ireland)
Dynamic international forum open to the discussion of all aspects of film history, theory and criticism through multiple research methodologies and perspectives.
Bright Lights Film Journal (US)
Mixes savvy pop reviews with in-depth analysis of current and classic, edgy and indie, international and experimental cinema - with wit and a political edge.
Cinema: Journal of Philosophy and the Moving Image (Portugal)
International, peer-reviewed publication dedicated to the philosophical inquiry into cinema in the broadest sense, including video, television, and new media.
Doc On-Line: Revista Digital de Cinema Documentário (Portugal)
Divulges research in the scope of the documentary cinema, with special emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches.
International academic journal dedicated to philosophically reviewing film studies, philosophical aesthetics, and world cinema.
International Journal of Scottish Theatre and Screen
International interdisciplinary e-journal with an interest in past and present trends in contemporary theatre and screen in Scotland, practices of Scottish theatre and screen practitioners abroad, and representations of Scotland in theatre and on screen.
The Journal of Religion and Film (US)
Committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion, however those are defined.
Movie: a Journal of Film Criticism (UK)
Committed to publishing rigorous but accessible critical writing that is responsive to the detailed texture and artistry of film and television, old and new.
Studii si Cercetari de Istoria Artei: Teatru, Muzică, Cinematografie (Romania)
Dedicated to advancing research in the history of Romanian and European theatre, music and cinema.
Wide Screen (UK)
Devoted to the critical study of cinema from historical, theoretical, political, and aesthetic perspectives, with regard to changes in the modes of production, distribution, and exhibition.