Film and Media Arts: Film Reviews
Find Film Reviews in Databases
Before the internet, film reviews were primarily published in newspapers and popular magazines, and compiled in book anthologies (and continue to be). Knowing when the film premiered is crucial information for locating reviews. The databases below provide citations and some full-text reviews from local and international newspapers and magazines.
Additional current and historical newspapers can be browsed here: Marriott Library Newspaper Databases.
- New York Times HistoricalFull-text coverage of The New York Times going back to the first issue: 1851-2019
- Los Angeles Times Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1999.
- Times Digital Archive (London Times) 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowDigital version of The Times of London archive.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of The Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 2011.
- San Francisco Chronicle Archive includes current content This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 to the present.
- Reader's Guide RetrospectiveIndexes: 1890-1982. This resource focuses on popular magazines, such as Time, Newsweek, Ladies' Home Journal, etc.
- Newspaper SourceCovers: 1995-present. Regional and national U.S. newspapers. Television news transcripts. International newspapers.
- ProQuest NewsstandCovers: approx. 1985-present. Regional and national U.S. newspapers, and international newspapers.
Find Film Reviews In Print Materials
Do a Subject Keyword search in the Usearch library catalog for the exact phrase: "motion pictures" AND reviews . This search will list 150+ books and magazines with film reviews.
For books about the theory and practice of critiquing films, search for the Subject Keyword phrase: "film criticism"
The Kael Index: A Guide to Movie Critic's Work, 1954-1991.An index pointing to film and TV reviews written by Pauline Kael and published in 10 anthologies; Marriott Library owns all 10 books. Listed alphabetically by film title, studio, and the last names of directors, actors, and screenwriters. Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection, PN1998.3 K34 S63 1993- Film Review Index, 1986Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: PN1995Z.F513 1986 v.1 & 2
- How to Locate Reviews of Plays and Films: A Bibliography of Criticism from the Beginnings to the PresentA guide for locating theater and film criticism in print sources prior to 1976. Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: PN1707Z .S36 1976
Film Release Indexes
- IMDB: Internet Movie DatabaseFilmographies of over 250,000 U.S. and international studio films, independent films, television programs, and video games. Information includes release dates, production companies, performers, directors, screenwriters, and crew members. There is also a growing collection of photos of film personalities. Updated continuously.
- Screen WorldAnnual publication summarizing the year's domestic, international, and independent film releases. Includes release dates, production companies, performers, directors, screenwriters, and film stills. Marriott Library owns volumes from 1951-2004.
Film Review Websites
- Rotten TomatoesGathers snippets of published reviews from film critics around the world and averages their overall ratings of each film.
- Roger EbertLong-time Chicago Sun-Times reviewer.
- Film CriticHosted by AMC (originally American Movie Classics), which also owns IFC (Independent Film Channel) and the Sundance Channel.
Writing About Film
A Short Guide to Writing about Film, 2015 (9th ed.) by A succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. This brief text introduces students to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically.
Film Analysis: A Casebook, 2015 by This is an e-book. Current uNID is required for access.
An accessible introduction to film analysis through close readings of 25 historically significant films from around the world. Provides students with practical models to help them improve their own writing and analytical skills.
Introduction to Film Criticism: Major critical approaches to narrative film, 1989 by This text introduces students to the principal critical techniques used since film became a major art form.
Critical Approaches to Writing about Film, 2000 by This book explains how to prepare for and write various types of critical pieces on film. It distinguishes the four main critical formats of writing about film--the review, the critique, the comparative analysis and the documented research paper--from each other (why, when, and how to use each and the different aspects within each).
