Film and Media Arts: Acting
Dialect Recordings and Resources on the Web
Here's a link to dialect recordings at Marriott Library.
Don't have a CD player? Check out a portable CD drive at the Marriott Library's Knowledge Commons Desk, plug it into your laptop, and use it to convert the portion of an audio CD you need to an MP3 file (for personal scholarship and research use only) using iTunes or Windows Media Player.
The links below are for free resources on the web. If you have others you'd like to recommend, send me an email.
- Dictionary of American Regional EnglishPresents the full panoply of American regional words, phrases, and pronunciations. The digital edition features audio, interactive maps, and insights into the DARE Survey.
- Visual Accent & Dialect ArchiveAn archive of video clips from around the world, providing both aural and visual information about an accent or dialogue.
- The International Dialects of English Archive"A free, online archive of primary source dialect and accent recordings for the performing arts."
- Sounds Familiar?"This site captures and celebrates the diversity of spoken English in the second half of the twentieth century."
One Button Studio
The One Button Studio allows you to create high-quality video recordings without having to know anything about lights, cameras, and microphones. Just bring a flash drive (to turn on the system and save your recordings) and push a single button.
OBS now has music playback capabilities! Bring a portable music device (smartphone, tablet, iPod), plug it the audio connector, and hit play. The recording system has a pre-amplifier that will reduce vocal pops!
Perfect for recording your audition reels. Reserve your one-hour session today!
Auditions/Scenework
To find books highlighting audition techniques, audition pieces, and scenework, do a Subject search in the Usearch library catalog for one of the following, exact phrases:
Or, do a basic keyword search for the phrase "student actors"
Performance
To find a wide variety of books on acting theory and training, do a Subject search in the Usearch library catalog for one of the following, exact words:
Featured Acting Books:
Drama Menu at a Distance: 80 Socially Distanced or Online Theatre Games by This is an e-book. You must be on campus or have a current uNID to access it.
Application of the Michael Chekhov Technique to Shakespeare's Sonnets, Soliloquies, and Monologues by This is an e-book. You must be on campus or have a current uNID to access it.
The Kilroys' List: 97 Monologues and Scenes by Female and Trans Playwrights by The Kilroys are a gang of playwrights and producers who came together in Los Angeles in 2013 to stop talking about gender parity in theatre and start taking action. In 2014, they released their first annual List: a vetted collection of plays written by female and trans writers, nominated by hundreds of professional artistic directors, literary managers, professors, producers, directors, and dramaturgs. This collection includes a monologue or scene from each play from the 2014 and 2015 editions of The List.
This is an e-book. You must be on campus or have a current uNID to access it.
Devising Performance, by Deirdre Heddon and Jane MillingGeneral Collection, Level 2: PN2193.E86 H43 2016
The Voiceover Book by This is an e-book. You must be on campus or have a current uNID to access it.
