Research Skills for Developing Writers: Vocabulary Help!

• This glossary is in alphabetical order; search for the word by the first letter.  For example, the word 'research' will be under letter R.

• The definitions are given in the form of synonyms.

• Here is a list of codes used:
• (abbrv.)= abbreviation
• (adj.) = adjective
• (adv.)= adverb
• (n.) = noun
• (v.)= verb
  

_____________________________________________________________________

A

• academic misconduct (n.): cheating or plagiarizing school work 
• Academic Search Premier (n.): ASP; research database
• acculturation (n.): adapting to culture; orientation; getting to know cultural norms
• accuracy (n.): certainty; containing facts; exactness
• acknowledge (v.): recognize; accept; approve
• authority (n.): influence; expertise
• administrative (adj.): official; in-charge
• analyze (v.): consider; study; evaluate
• aspect (n.): detail; facet; part
• attribution (n.): credit; citation; acknowledgement 
• author (n.): creator; writer

B

• bias (n.): one-sidedness; preference; prejudice
• Boolean operator (n.): "and"; "or"; "not"
  
• borrow (v.): use and cite; take; give a note for
• broad (adj.): deep; big; widespread 
• browse (v.): scan; skim; read

C

• call number (n.): number assigned to a book; shelf mark
• catalog (n.): collection of library resources; information bank
• cheating (n.): dishonesty; fraud; not doing your own work
• choose (v.): select; identify; decide on
• citation (n.): reference; source; credit
• cite (v.): name; reference; give credit
• CLOZE (n.): a language exercise that helps you learn to use vocabulary in sentences and paragraphs 
• collect (v.): find; gather; compile
• collection (n.): group; selection
• common knowledge (n.): a fact that everybody knows
• concept map (n.): graphic organizer; semantic connections; idea map
• concise (adj.): detailed; narrow; brief
• conditioned (adj.): learned; accustomed to; habituated
• controversial (adj.): argumentative; open to question; debatable
• CRAAP (abbr.): Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose
• creator (n.): author; organization
• credentials (n.): references; recommendation; background
• credibility (n.): reliability; validity; trustworthiness
• criteria (n.): basis; example; standard
• currency (n.): timely; current; relevant to time 
• current (adj.): timely; now; up-to-date

D

• database (n.): information bank; collection of resources
• deliberate (adj.): on purpose; planned; conscious
• derivative (adj.): transferred; copied; acquired
• develop (v.): build; expand; write
  

E

• evaluate (v.): judge; decide; analyze
• express (v.): present; produce; write

F

• fabrication (n.): falsification; invention; lie
• facet (n.): feature; element
• field (n.): domain; specific area; type 
• first impression (n.): first meeting; introduction

G

• graphic organizer (n.): chart; visual; diagram
  

H

I

• identify (v.): find; choose; select
• ill-defined (adj.): unclear; vague
• impartial (adj.): equal; unbiased
• implication (n.): conclusion; meaning; connection
• index (v.): organize; categorize
• intentionally (adv.): on purpose; willfully

J

K

• keyword (n.): "natural language"; general term; main idea
  

L

• location (n.): physical place; collection; outside source

M

• manifestation (n.): demonstration; presentation; form of expressing your work
• misconduct (n.): misbehavior; offense; wrongdoing 
• misrepresent (v.): lie; falsify; manipulate
• misrepresentation (n.): lie; falsification; manipulation 
• MLIB (abbrv.): Marriott Library; University of Utah main campus library
• multi-disciplinary (adj.): many topics; several subjects
  
• multilingual (adj.): speaking 2 or more languages 

N

O

• objective (adj.): impartial; unbiased; fair
• out-of date (adj.): obsolete; irrelevant; not current
  

P

• parameter (n.): guideline; boundary; limit
• perform (v.): do; conduct 
• periodical (n.): journal; magazine; newspaper
• plagiarism (n.): copying another's written work and saying it is your own; falsification; stealing
• plagiarize (v.): cheat; copy written work; not cite
• proofread (v.): edit; check; correct
  
• publication (n.): written communication; book; periodical
• publication date (n.): the date or year an communication was released to the public
• purpose (n.): reason; goal; objective

Q

R

• refine (v.): clarify; improve; filter
• relevance (n.): significance; connection; meaning
• relevant (adj.): related; important; consistent with
• reputation (n.): character; prestige; standing
• research (n.): analysis; inquiry
  
• research (v.): analyze; ask; inquire
• retrieve (v.): get; fetch; bring back

S

• scholarly (adj.): academic; studious; accurate
• search term (n.): keyword; subject term; topic
• skim (v.): read quickly; browse; scan
• specific (adj.): exact; explicit; precise
• spine (n.): bound edge of a book
• status (n.): condition; situation; place
• subject (n.): topic; discipline; field
• subject term (n.): "controlled language"; specific database search term
• SWBAT (abbrv.): Students will be able to...
• synonym (n.): a different word with the same meaning
• synthesize (v.): put together; organize; arrange

T

• table of contents (n.): overview; background
• thesaurus (n.): a dictionary of synonyms
  
• timeliness (n.): relevant for the time; currency
• title (n.): name; description; headline
• tutorial (n.): short lesson; example

U

• unauthorized (adj.): without permission; banned; unapproved
  
• unintentionally (adv.): not on purpose; on accident

V

• variance (n.): difference; conflict; inconsistency
• vernacular (n.): terms; specialized vocabulary; jargon
  

W

X

Y

Z