It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first place to go when beginning research in music! Includes biographical articles in all areas of music study. Search for composers, performers, scholars, genres, and musical terms. Articles contain bibliographies for further research, and composer works lists. You'll also find opus and catalog numbers for works, dates of initial publication and first performances; and, bibliographical references to any Complete Works editions.
Oxford Music Online is a collection of multiple music reference resources. The database includes the full content of Grove Music Online (on which the collection is primarily based), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users, and The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms, genres, and individual works. Also included is the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, a biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. All content in the database can be searched or browsed using a number of filters and categories.
This resource is a collection of language and subject reference works. It's cross-searchable and could be useful to your music research, especially if your topic is an interdisciplinary one.
This listing provides access to a collection of language and subject reference works which the Marriott Library has purchased through Oxford University Press. The collection is cross-searchable and can also be browsed by title or entry. Users can retrieve over 2 million short and long subject reference entries (many of which are illustrated), bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries, quotations, and proverbs. Patrons may also sign up for a (free) personal account which will allow searches and other research information to be saved between sessions.
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 5863 texts including 1002 aria texts!
Delving deeper into your topic: Finding Articles and Citations
Online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1975 is also included. Includes topic concerned with every aspect of the clasical and world music.
Compiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 202 languages from 5,200 journals.
Covers music periodicals from 1800-1950. The RIPM (Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals) database indexes the contents of over 140 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews and more. RIPM also offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages. New titles are added to the database every six months.
Checking on the Latest Student Research: Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new ful…
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.