Music: McKay Music Library

Music Research Portal

About the library

The Emma Ray Riggs McKay Music Library is located on the first floor   of the School of Music, in Gardner Hall.

Within the McKay Library, you'll find a circulating collection of music scores, and books about music; you'll also find a selection of music reference materials, and a large listening library of over 30,000 recordings. Listening stations, private study carrels, and open study tables allow students to work, read, and listen to music individually or in groups.

McKay's computer lab contains 20 Mac computer stations outfitted with a wide variety of software, including music notation and music editing software. A technology lab offers students a technologically-advanced environment to perform music and multimedia editing.  Students may independently create, mix, edit, and record electronic and computer music or enroll in music technology courses taught in the lab.

Special Collections of the McKay Library include the Mariska Aldrich Archive, and the Maurice Abravanel Studio. More information about these two collections is included in this guide.

The staff at the McKay Library is available to assist you with your music related questions. You can find us at the McKay Service Desk during our regular hours:

8:00am - 9:00pm Monday through Thursday;

8:00am - 5:00pm, Friday;

11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday


Our hours change during breaks, so please check our website, or call us at 801-581-6691. You may also schedule a research consultation by contacting Lisa Chaufty at lisa.chaufty@utah.edu.

Come and see us! We look forward to meeting you!

Maurice Abravanel Studio

Studio

Housed in the McKay Music Library, the studio reconstructs the space in Maurice Abravanel's home and contains his conducting scores, books, personal memorabilia, photographs and his Steinway piano.

An intimate environment for serious study by individuals and small groups, the studio provides a fitting environment for graduate oral exams, one of the capstone events of a student's advanced music study. The studio draws visitors worldwide. Please contact us for a tour or visit.

 

Collections

Physical Collection

View a PDF of the inventory of the Maurice Abravanel Studio collection.

Digital Collection

During his tenure with the Utah Symphony, Abravanel was known particularly for his pioneering recordings of the complete symphonies of Gustav Mahler (1860-1911). Scans of the maestro's notated scores of the nine Mahler symphonies will form the backbone of the Abravanel Studio digital collection as it continues to grow.

Mariska Aldrich Archive

Mariska Aldrich (1881-1965) was an American dramatic soprano singer and actress, born in Boston, Massachusetts. She made her operatic debut at the Manhattan Opera House in 1908 in Meyerbeer’s Les Huguenots. Mariska was the first American-born soprano to become a star with the Metropolitan Opera and the first American to sing all three Brünnhildes of Wagner’s Ring in Germany. After years of singing in Europe and the United States, Madame Aldrich settled in Los Angeles, coaching singers and teaching voice.

The Aldrich Archive contains over 25,000 commercial, out-of-print, and historical recordings; operatic scores and sheet music; periodicals and books about music; and historical photos and ephemera. Madame Aldrich began collecting operatic memorabilia and audio recordings while she was singing opera. Her daughter, Anna Mary Aldrich (Meeka) continued caring for and adding to her mother’s collection, expanding it to its current size. In 1998, the Aldrich Foundation gifted the collection to the University of Utah.  To arrange a visit to the Aldrich Archive, please contact us.

The Aldrich Archive recordings are accessible through Usearch, along with other McKay Music Library materials.

Collected Works and Monuments of Music (In Progress)

McKay Library houses the multi-volume Collected Works of individual composers in the M3 call number section. To find individual works within the collected works, consult each composer's entry in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, available through Oxford Music Online.  See below for Collected Works at the McKay Library: A -- F, G -- L, M -- R, S -- Z.

A -- F      
COMPOSER TITLE SERIES/PUBLISHER CALL NUMBER
Agricola, Alexander Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .A35
Alberti, Gasparo Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .A42
Arcadelt, Jacques Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .A72
Bach, Johann Christian Collected Works of Johann Christian Bach Garland M3 .B105
Bach, Johann Sebastian Neue Ausgabe Sämtlicher Werke (Neue Bach Ausgabe, NBA) Bärenreiter M3 .B1133
Barbireau, Jacobi Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .B3
Bassano, Giovanni Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .B37
Beethoven, Ludwig Van Werke Henle M3 .B44
Berg, Alban Sämtlicher Werke Universal M3 .B47
Berlioz, Hector New Edition of the Complete Works Bärenreiter M3 .B52
Billings, William Complete Works of William Billings American Musicological Society M3 .B55
Brahms, Johannes Sämtliche Werke J.W. Edwards M3 .B83
Brassart, Johannes Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .B84
Bruckner, Anton Sämtlicher Werke Bruckner Verlag M3. B88
Brumel Antoine Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .B92
Buxtehude, Dietrich Werke Abteilung Verlag M3 .B96
Byrd, William The Byrd Edition (Collected Works) Stainer & Bell M3 .B992
Carver, Robert Collected Works Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .C3
Castro, Jean de Opera Omnia Leuven University Press M3 .C328
Cellavenia, Francesco Collected Works Hänssler Verlag M3 .C44
Champion, Nicolas Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .C5
Chopin, Frédéric Collected Works (Paderewski Edition) The Fryderyk Chopin Institute M3 .C55
Clemens non Papa, Jacobus Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .C6
Compère, Loyset Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .C7
Corelli, Arcangelo Works Laaber Verlag M3 .C76
Couperin, François Œuvres Complètes L'Oiseau Lyre M3 .C856
Crecquillon, Thomas Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .C91
des Prez, Josquin Werken Alsbach M3 .D4
  Opera Omnia Alsbach M3 .D44
Dufay, Guillaume Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .D9
Dvořák, Antonin Complete Edition of Antonin Dvořák's Works Artia M3 .D93
Erart, Jehan Complete Songs Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .E65
Ernoul de Gastinois Lais et Chansons Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .E75
Fayrfax, Robert Collected Works Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .F25
Ferrabosco, Alfonso Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3. F36 W6 1984
Ferrabosco, Domenico Maria Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae

M3. F36 W6 1992

Festa, Costanzo Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .F45
Févin, Antoine de Oeuvres Complètes Institute of Mediaeval Music M3. F48
Foster, Stephen C. Works   M3 .F73 1990
  Foster Hall Reproductions Josiah Kirby Lilly M3 .F74
Frescobaldi, Girolamo Opere complete Monumenti musicali italiani M3 .F89 1976
Frye, Walter Musical Works Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .F95

 

G -- L

COMPOSER TITLE SERIES/PUBLISHER CALL NUMBER
Gabrieli, Giovanni Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .G16
Grace Brulé Lyrics and Melodies Garland M3 .G17
Gaffurius, Franchinus Collected Musical Works Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .G2
Galliculus, Johannes Gesamtausgabe Institute of Mediaeval Music M3 .G24
Gesualdo, Carlo Sämtiche Werke Ugrino Verlag M3 .G35
Ghiselin, Johannes Collected Works Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .G4
Glinka, M.I. Polnoe sobranie sochineniǐ Gos. muzykalʹnoe izd-vo M3 .G56
Gluck, Christoph Willibald Sämtliche Werke Bärenreiter M3 .G55
Gombert, Nicolas Opera Omnia Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae M3 .G7
Gontier, de Soignies Chansons Hänssler Verlag M3 .G74 C45
Goudimel, Claude Oeuvres complètes   M3 .G75
Grétry, André Collection complète   M3 .G76
Grieg, Edvard Samlede verker   M3 .G78
Guillaume, de Machaut Oeuvres complètes   M3 .G914
Handel, George Frideric Hallische Händel-Ausgabe : kritische Gesamtausgabe Bärenreiter M3 .H26
Hassler, Hans Leo Sämtliche Werke Breitkopf & Härtel M3 .H35
Haydn, Joseph Werke Henle M3 .H46
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

 

McKay Music Library Director

Lisa Chaufty's picture
Lisa Chaufty
Contact:
School of Music
1375 E. Presidents Circle
McKay Music Library,
Room 100
801-587-9786
Website
Subjects:Music
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library