Images and Media for Research and Presentations: Images
This guide will help you find images and multimedia that will enhance research papers and presentations. Images aren't just for art students!
Image Databases
All images are for scholarly and educational use, unless otherwise noted.
- Tips for Searching AP ImagesProvided by the University of Arkansas.
- ARTstorStudents and Faculty accessing ARTstor from off-campus first will need to create an account while on-campus.
TIP: Under the BROWSE function (lower left on the ARTstor homepage), select "View By Classification." Scroll down to "Humanities & Social Sciences" or "Science, Technology, & Industry." - Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic NovelsFind current comics and graphic novels, as well as literature and criticism of the genre.
Article Databases
Did you know that you can search for images in text-based article databases like JSTOR and Academic Search Premier? The tips beneath the links to these databases will show you how!
- Academic Search PremierWhen performing a search in any Ebscohost database, like Academic Search Premier, enter your search terms and submit your search. On the right side of the results page, there will be a box titled "Related Images." If the box is hidden, you can unhide it by clicking on the arrows on the right side of the screen. When you click "Find More," the database will locate and show articles with images.
- JSTOREnter your search terms in JSTOR; on your results page, simply click the link titled "Only Results with Images" in order to find and display images.
Library Resources
Designing corporate identities : graphic design as a business strategyGeneral Collection, Level 2: HD59.2 .K593 2001
Slide:ology : the art and science of creating great presentationsKnowledge Commons Ready Reference Collection: HF5718.22 .D83 2008
The public domain : how to find & use copyright-free writings, music, art & moreKnowledge Commons Ready Reference: KF3022 .F575 2008
The Back of the Napkin: Solving Problems and Selling Ideas with Pictures by General Collection, Level 2: HD30.29 .R625 2008
Presentation zen design : simple design principles and techniques to enhance your presentations by General Collection, Level 2: HF5718.22 .R48 2010
The visual miscellaneum : a colorful guide to the world's most consequential trivia by Fine Arts Library: AG243 .M33 2009
