Images and Media for Research and Presentations: MLA
See me for details!
MLA handbook for writers of research papersLVL 2: Knowledge Commons Ready Reference
LB2369 .G53 2009
Library Guides and Web Resources
- Style and Citation ManualsThis guide also contains call numbers and links to the catalog records of the guides in the Knowledge Commons Ready Reference Collection on the 2nd Floor of Marriott Library.
- NoodleTools"In short, NoodleTools will help you create and produce a perfectly stylized bibliography for each research paper or project that you must develop for any of your classes that require APA, MLA or Chicago/Turabian style as a standard for documentation (i.e., your citations)."
- Endnote and Endnote Web SupportEndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.
- Purdue OWLThis website provides examples for citing visual and multimedia sources, and covers the basics of MLA formatting and citation style.
- Cite SourceAn excellent citation resource that provides useful information and examples for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Using and Citing Audio and Multimedia
MLA uses a system of author-page in-text citation, followed by a separate Works Cited page. Your in-text citation should lead directly to the entry in the Works Cited page. For example, in discussing the film Best in Show, if I mention the title of the work in my sentence, there is no need for any other in-text citation. However, had I not mentioned the title, the in-text citation would be (Best in Show). For in-text citations where you are quoting directly from an audiovisual source, you may want to include the time at which the quote is stated (e.d. 4:37). There is no need for a separate Works Cited list for audiovisual material.
DVD/Video
Film Title. Director. Performers (if featured and relevant to citation). Film Production Company, Year of Release. Format (DVD, etc.)
Best in Show. Dir. Christopher Guest. Perf. Fred Willard, Eugene Levy, and Catherine O'Hara. Castle Rock Entertainment, 2001. DVD.
In-text Citation: (Best in Show)
Music Recording
Performer. "Track Name." Album. Production Company, Year of Release. Format (MP3 file, CD, etc.)
Welch, Gillian and David Rawlings. “Six White Horses.” The harrow & the harvest. Acony, 2011. CD.
In-text Citation: (Welch and Rawlings, "Six White Horses")
Podcast
Author/Creator or Story (this can be a company/organization) Last name, First. "Title of Story." Program. Website. Sponsor, original air date. Medium of access. Access date.
Chicago Public Media. “Neighborhood Watch.” This American Life. WBEZ Chicago, 19 Nov. 2010. Web. 19 January 2012.
In-text Citation: (Chicago Public Media, "Neighborhood Watch")
