Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Metropolitan Research Center: U of U
The Metropolitan Research Center is a unit within the College of Architecture + Planning that conducts basic and applied research on the built environment at the metropolitan scale, focusing on key forces shaping metropolitan form such as demographics, environment, technology, design, transportation, arts and culture, and governance. It seeks to expand knowledge in city and metropolitan affairs to improve policy and practice, and educate the general public on important issues facing communities.
Salt Lake Chamber (the City’s Chamber of Commerce)
Officially, the Chamber is a private, non-profit, member-supported organization that promotes economic and civic progress. F The primary function of the Chamber is to support networking, advocacy, and the interchange of ideas within the commercial world. Major community success stories found their beginnings at the Salt Lake Chamber, including the Delta Air Lines hub operation, the Utah Jazz, the 2002 Olympic Winter Games, and Downtown Rising.
Salt Lake City Planning & Zoning
The Salt Lake City Planning and Zoning Division is responsible for creating land use development codes and their implementation.
Salt Lake City: Community & Economic Development
A department of the City Government that provides leadership, policies, and programs promoting strong, vibrant neighborhoods and communities and proactively encouraging the positive and orderly growth and development of the City. Community & Economic Development advocates incorporation of the diverse interests of our community to reduce barriers and enhance leadership capacity to continue to improve the quality of life for all residents.
Salt Lake City: Recorder’s Office / Records Management
The Government Records Access Management Act (GRAMA), Title 63G Chapter 2 of the Utah Code, is the records law for the State of Utah. GRAMA defines what a record is and establishes the criteria for accessing government records. Salt Lake City Corporation complies with GRAMA under Salt Lake City Code, Section 2.64.
Salt Lake County Archives
The County Archives has historical records created by the Salt Lake County government dating from 1852 to the early 2000s. Information on records held by the Archives can be found through their online catalog. Of note to researchers of the built environment are holdings of tax records, land title certificates, aerial photographic maps, and building permits. The Archive's public reading room is open Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment only.
Salt Lake County Assessor's Office
Excellent resource for looking up parcel numbers and plat maps in Salt Lake County. Many of the properties also include photographs of the houses.
Special Collections @ Marriott Library
Among the most diverse and valuable holdings in the University of Utah Libraries are those held in the Special Collections Department. The department collects and preserves materials that require unusual care or special attention to their acquisition processing, and patron use. The department's mission statement is to acquire and make available books, periodicals, documents, photographs, films, and original materials documenting the history of Utah, the Mormons, and the West.
The Downtown Alliance
The Downtown Alliance is a non-profit organization serving the downtown property owners, businesses, and residents whose mission is to build a dynamic and diverse community that is the regional center for culture, commerce and entertainment. Established in 1991, the Downtown Alliance represents more than 2,500 business and property owners in the Central Business District, which is bounded by North Temple, 500 West, 400 South, and 200 East.
Utah Heritage Foundation
Established in 1966, Utah Heritage Foundation was the first statewide preservation organization in the western United States. Utah Heritage Foundation reaches communities throughout the state through a wide range of programs and activities.
Utah Historical Society
The Research Library of the Utah State Historical Society has historic photographs, building permits, city directories and information about local architects. Call (801) 533-3546 for more information and for hours of operation. The research library catalog and indices to many of the library's collections are available online.
Utah State Capitol
For nearly a century, the Utah State Capitol has served the people of the state as the seat of all three branches of government and numerous state agencies. The Capitol was designed by Utah architect Richard K.A. Kletting in 1912 and completed in 1916. Kletting’s winning plans incorporated modern construction methods and materials – including reinforced concrete, elevators and electric lighting. Over the years, various remodeling projects modified the interior spaces and grounds.
Utah State History
Provides resources and services related to historical research, building and community preservation issues, cultural resource management, archaeology, and teaching and learning history. Links to: Utah State Historical Society; research center & collections; historic buildings; archaeology resources; State Preservation Office; and assistance for organizations & local governments.
Utah State History Historic Buildings
Utah's State Historic Preservation Office assists communities, agencies, and the general public in researching, surveying, designating, and treating their historic buildings and structures. Some of the resources they provide that are relevant to researchers of the built environment include: national register information and database; guides for researching, surveying, and preserving historic buildings; and files on thousands of historic buildings throughout the state.