Images and Media for Research and Presentations: Images
This guide will help you find images and multimedia that will enhance research papers and presentations. Images aren't just for art students!
Image Databases
All images are for educational and scholarly use ONLY, unless otherwise indicated.
- Tips for Searching AP ImagesProvided by the University of Arkansas.
- ARTstorStudents and faculty wanting to access this resource from off-campus first will need to create an account while on campus.
TIP: Under the BROWSE function (lower left on the ARTstor homepage), select "View By Classification." Scroll down to "Science, Technology, and Industry." - Birds of North AmericaA fantastic resource for multimedia excursions! A repository of photo, sound, video recordings, and information related to over 700 different species of birds in the United States.
ARTstor Helpful Guides
Article Databases
Did you know that you can search for images in text-based article databases like JSTOR and Academic Search Premier? The tips beneath the links to these databases will show you how!
- Academic Search PremierWhen performing a search in any Ebscohost database, like Academic Search Premier, enter your search terms and submit your search. On the right side of the results page, there will be a box titled "Related Images." If the box is hidden, you can unhide it by clicking on the arrows on the right side of the screen. When you click "Find More," the database will locate and show articles with images.
- JSTOREnter your search terms in JSTOR; on your results page, simply click the link titled "Only Results with Images" in order to find and display images.
Library Resources
Envisioning science : the design and craft of the science imageGeneral Collection: TR692 .F73 2002
Preparing scientific illustrations : a guide to better posters, presentations, and publicationsGeneral Collection: Q222 .B75 1996
Heck's pictorial archive of nature and scienceFine Arts Library: Q222 .H432513 1994
The physician's art : representations of art and medicineGeneral Collection: R836 .H36 1999
Ultimate Visual Dictionary 2001Knowledge Commons Ready Reference: PE1629 .U49 2001
On the surface of things : images of the extraordinary in scienceGeneral Collection, Level 1: QC173.4.S94 F73 1997
The public domain : how to find & use copyright-free writings, music, art & moreKnowledge Commons Ready Reference: KF3022 .F575 2008
