Creativity & Innovation Services
Creativity & Innovation Services supports University of Utah students, staff, and faculty in their interdisciplinary research and productivity, with an emphasis on arts and design, multimedia technology, experiential learning, and multimodal communication.
Services and collections include:
- Fine Arts & Architecture Library
- Creative Spaces, includes 3D Printing & Scanning services and Interactive Media Technology
- GIS (Geospatial Information Systems) Services
- Audio Recording Studio
- Video Recording Studio
- Materials Collection
- One Button Studio
|Shakespeare's Globe on Screen: 28 Shakespeare plays, and one play each by Marlowe and Webster, were recorded live on the Globe Theatre stage in London.||Large Format and Feeder Scanner: Scan books on a flat or v-shaped bed (up to 25" x 33.5"), as well as paper sheet documents up to 36" wide in the Fine Arts Library on Level 2.|
|Pro Sound Effects: Contains over 800,000 curated sound effects. All sounds are royalty free!||Katherine's Courtyard: Indoor/outdoor space designed for group study, teaching, performances, exhibitions, and celebrations.|
North American Women's Drama, 2nd Edition: contains full text of 1,517 plays written from colonial times to the present by more than 330 playwrights from the United States and Canada..
|3D Printing, In-person and Online: Bring your own filament and use 3D printers with up to 8-cubic-feet build areas. Or, upload a 3D file online and pay us to print it for you.|
New Play Exchange: A script discovery tool hosted by the National New Play Network and sourced by playwrights.
Now IP-authenticated, so you can log in with your own uNID!
GIS & Data Visualization: 8 high-performance PCs loaded with software for computational analysis and visualization of data.
Coming soon: A 25' x 9' data visualization wall!
Theatre in Video II: An expansion of Theatre in Video I, this collection includes classic and contemporary plays and documentaries, with a focus on contemporary and international productions.
|One Button Studio and Podcast Booth: Self-scheduled video and audio production spaces. No experience required!|
North American Indian Drama: 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
Digital Matters Lab: Collaboration and support for computationally enhanced research and pedagogy.
|Film Scripts Online: 1,100 feature film and international film scripts, most never published previously.||
VR Arena: 10 Valve Index headsets around a 2000-sq. ft. play area, plus a driving wheel, flight stick, and treadmill controller.
If you have research and technology questions, you can Ask The Library below.
Is there a book, journal, DVD, CD, score, etc. you think Marriott Library should own but doesn't already? Send me an email with the title and publisher information.
I'm happy to schedule one-hour consultations to assist you with your Theatre research. Send me a few dates and times when you are available and I'll make the appointment. My contact information is to the right ===>
Greg Hatch (Theatre Librarian)
Need help? Contact us
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Head of Creativity & Innovation Services
Office Hours: Schedule a one-hour consultation.