Theatre: Play & Musical Criticism
This guide provides links to basic theatre research: history, design, acting, production, scripts, videos, and careers.
Find Play Criticism in Databases
- Gale LiteratureA centralized interface that searches all the Gale literary databases the Marriott Library subscribes to. Search for biographies, bibliographies, critical analyses, multimedia resources, and primary works of more than 90,000 authors from every time period and literary discipline, including drama.
- MLA International BibliographyThis is the quintessential index for articles, books, bibliographies and conference proceedings pertaining to language and literature, including plays. Coverage: 1926-present.
Find Play Criticism in Print Materials
If you prefer the print edition, the six Gale literary criticism series are available in the library's ARC (Automated Retrieval Center). A cumulative index for Authors, Topics and Titles is printed in each volume.
- Drama criticism
- Shakespearean criticism
- Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800
- Nineteenth-century literature criticism
- Twentieth-century literary criticism
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
In addition, you can do a Subject keyword search in the library catalog for:
- (theater OR drama) AND "criticism and interpretation"
- (theater OR drama) AND "history and criticism"
- musicals AND "criticism and interpretation"
- musicals AND "history and criticism"
Add another term, connected with the word AND, to narrow your results. For example:
Writing Drama Criticism
A Short Guide to Writing about Theatre by Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: PN1707.F47 2008
Fragile Magic by Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: PN2053.W46 2012
