Theatre: Tertiary Resources (Reference Materials)
This guide provides links to basic theatre research: history, design, acting, production, scripts, videos, and careers.
Encyclopedia Databases
These are general encyclopedias that will provide cursory background information about nearly any topic.
- Oxford Reference Online: Performing ArtsOnline access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, timelines, and quotations. Covers a wide variety of topics, including the performing and visual arts.
- Credo Reference3,000,000 full-text entries in over 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, and other sources.
Types of Reference Books
All reference books can be general or on very specific topics. If you can imagine it, there's probably a reference book about it.
- Dictionaries: Brief definitions of words, technical terminology.
- Encyclopedias: Background information about a topic.
- Articles are written by experts, who often point to other source materials.
- Almanacs: Tiimelines, statistics, and factual data.
- Handbooks: Brief information/lists for facts, formulas, technical information, etc.
- Biographical Dictionaries: Brief background information about a person or named group.
- Yearbooks: Annual summary of events, awards, and notable changes (including obituaries).
- Directories: Contact information and list of services/resource provided by organizations, often updated annually.
Some Key Theatre History Reference Books
We have hundreds of encyclopedias in print editions on topics ranging from American Theatre to Zombies! To find them:
- Go to Usearch, the library catalog
- Search for: Encyclopedias AND topic
- Replace topic with a general term that describes your topic. For example: Encyclopedias AND Women
- If needed, limit your results using the Resource Type and Subject options in the right-hand column.
- If you see a tab under the title that says "Available at", the encyclopedia is available in print. If you see a link for "Online Access" it's available as an e-book.
Bibliography of Medieval Drama by Marriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PN2152Z .S78 1972
The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Comedy by This is an e-book.
Crowell's handbook of classical drama by Marriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PA3024 .H35
The Oxford Handbook of Early Modern Theatre by Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: PN2589.O94 2009
The Oxford Handbook of the Georgian Theatre 1737-1832 by Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: PN2593.O94 2014
Critical survey of drama by Marriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PN1625 .C68 2003
International dictionary of theatre by Marriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PN2035.I49 1992
This is a three-volume set (plays; playwrights; and actors, directors & designers) with timelines and extensive bibliographies, pointing you to additional source materials.- The Cambridge history of British theatre, v. 1-3 byMarriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PN2581 .C36 2004
- A guide to reference and bibliography for theatre research byMarriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PN 1620.A1Z B15 1983
Intersectional Theatre Reference Books
The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theater by This is an e-book.
Musical Theatre Reference Books
The Oxford Handbook of the American Musical by This is an e-book
The Oxford Handbook of the British Musical by This is an e-book
The Oxford Handbook of Sondheim Studies by This is an e-book
The Oxford Handbook of Musical Theatre Screen Adaptations by This is an e-book.
Shakespeare Reference Books
- The reader's encyclopedia of Shakespeare byMarriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: PR2892.C3
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and Dance by This is an e-book.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and Race by This is an e-book.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and Music by This is an e-book.
