Theatre: Find Vocal Scores
Finding Vocal Scores
Browsing Marriott Library Collections
We have over 700 vocal scores and vocal selections for musicals in the Marriott Library. This list is sorted alphabetically by the title of the musical or song.
You can also find vocal scores for popular music using this list, also sorted alphabetically by title or song. Try adding the name of an artist, group, or genre (rock, jazz, folk, country) to narrow the results.
Searching Marriott Library Collections
If you're looking for a specific musical or song, do an Advanced Search in the Usearch library catalog (change the search box drop-down menu from Any Field to Title). Be sure to enclose the title "in quotation marks". Refine your results by choosing Scores under the headings Material Type or Resource Type.
If you need further assistance tracking down a score, please contact me at: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology
Marriott Library has a complete set of these song anthologies, and have grouped them by voice so you can see the entire subset for just your vocal range.
Sibelius, music notation & composition software, is available on all Macs in Marriott Library, Student Computing Labs, and the McKay Music Library. Use it to transcribe and transpose sheet music scores. To find it, open the Spotlight tool (magnifying glass in upper right corner) and type in: Sibelius.
Sibelius: a comprehensive guide is available in the General Collection, Level 2, MT39.R84 2010
Online Song Indexes
These directories point to sheet music anthologies in other library collections. Many of the books also may be found in the Usearch Library Catalog. If not, they can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- University of Tennessee Song IndexThis database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies.
- University of Washington Index to Arias and Art Songs in CollectionsIndexes over 100 anthologies.
Print Song Indexes
These books point to individual song scores published in anthologies. Follow this link for a longer list of vocal music bibliographies and song indexes, including classical, sacred, art, and folk songs.
- The New Broadway Song Companion byE-book OR Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.M78 D48 2009
- Vocal Repertoire for the Twenty-First Century, Volume 1 byThis is an e-book. Current uNID required to access it outside of Marriott Library.
- Vocal Repertoire for the Twenty-First Century, Volume 2 byThis is an e-book. Current uNID required to access it outside of Marriott Library.
- From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the Voice byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.V7 D67 2002 (Chapter 6: Musical Theater Selections)
- The Song Index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.S3 L665 1998 v. 1 & 2
- Song finder: a title index to 32,000 popular songs in collections, 1854-1992 byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.S3 F47 1995
- The Musicals No One Came to See byMarriott Library LVL 2: General Collection: ML128.M78 S5 1987 (Lesser-known musicals; some have published vocal selections.)
- Where's That Tune? An Index to Songs in Fakebooks byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.P63 G66 1990
- Find That Tune: An Index to Rock, Folk-Rock, Disco & Soul in collections byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.R6 F56 1984, v.1 & 2
- Catalog of the American Musical byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.M78 K72 1988
- The Music Locator byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.C54 1980
- Popular Song Index byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.S3 H4 (and supplements 1-4)
- Song index: an index to more than 12,000 songs in 177 song collections byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.S3 S31 1966
- Index to song books; a title index to over 11,000 copies of almost 6,800 songs in 111 song books byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.S3 L45
- Songs in Collections byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: ML128.S3 D37
Digitized Sheet Music Collections
- George M. Cohan CollectionOver 400 scripts, scores, and sheet music by George M. Cohan (1878-1942) are available online through the Museum of the City of New York’s Collections Portal.
- Sheet Music Consortium35 (and counting!) libraries around the globe working together to build an open collection of digitized sheet music.
- International Music Score Library Project: Petrucci Music Library"Sharing the world’s public domain music." Based in Canada, this site "strives to abide by Canadian copyright law" while attempting to restrict/allow access to users according to their home country's copyright laws.
- Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1820-1860American Memory Project, Library of Congress. Over 15,000 public domain works published between 1820 and 1869. Includes method books and instructional materials, and sheet music for popular songs, piano, sacred and secular choral, solo instrumental, band, and orchestra.
- Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885American Memory Project, Library of Congress. Over 47,000 public domain works published between 1870 and 1885. Includes method books and instructional materials, and sheet music for popular songs, piano, sacred and secular choral, solo instrumental, band, and orchestra.
- University of Colorado Boulder Sheet Music Collection150,000 items published between 1890 and 1922 (and therefore in the public domain).
- Directory of other Sheet Music collectionsNote: Not all of the collections listed have been digitized.
Sheet Music Publishers and Vendors
We attempt to stay up-to-date with the musical scores and librettos that we own. However, if you're aware of a score or libretto that's been published and we don't own it, please suggest a purchase.
- Dramatists Play Service: musicalsPerusal scores for their musicals can now be viewed on their website. To view a score, visit the musical's perusal page and dowload a PDF of the music.
- Sheet Music DirectThis vendor does not offer a "library subscription" so we can't purchase these items for you. However, if you want to own your own copy, and don't want to scan from our print editions, this is a good option. They also have an iPad app!