Theatre: Play & Musical Criticism
This guide provides links to basic theatre research: history, design, acting, production, scripts, videos, and careers.
Writing Drama Criticism
- A Short Guide to Writing about Theatre byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: PN1707.F47 2008
- Fragile Magic byMarriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: PN2053.W46 2012
Find Play Criticism in Databases
- Literature Resource Center (LRC)This database provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 90,000 authors from every era and literary discipline, including drama. Also includes timelines, so you can see the work in context with contemporary events and people.
- MLA International BibliographyThis is the quintessential index for articles, books, bibliographies and conference proceedings pertaining to language and literature, including plays. Coverage: 1926-present.
Find Play Criticism in Print Materials
- Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new windowLRC contains biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from many time periods and literary disciplines, including theater. Each volume contains in-depth coverage of a different theme or one of 2,000 of the most-studied authors and playwrights.
The six literary criticism series below are print anthologies contained within LRC. A cumulative index for Authors, Topics and Titles is printed in each volume.
- Drama criticism
- Shakespearean criticism
- Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800
- Nineteenth-century literature criticism
- Twentieth-century literary criticism
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
In addition, you can do a Subject keyword search in the library catalog for:
- (theater OR drama) AND "criticism and interpretation"
- (theater OR drama) AND "history and criticism"
- musicals AND "criticism and interpretation"
- musicals AND "history and criticism"
Add another term, connected with the word AND, to narrow your results. For example: